Newbie here- couldn't read any replies on archived thread about this. Desktop crashed on boot with no warning, showing Windows unable to load due to this missing or corrupt file.

System was well maintained, clean:
Dell Dimension 4400
Pen 4 1600 megahertz
Installed RAM: 512MB
HD: 40GB 77% free
Windows XP Home w/SP2

No major problem, no hardware problems, no 'noises'-whirring or beeps.
Installation CD will not boot
Possible Dell 4400 motherboard problem?

Keep trying, or remove hard drive, try to recover?
Thanks,
anges35

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Hello,

I just had this happen to me and I was able to fix it in 10 minutes. Mine was caused by a power bump right at boot-time and it caused the "%systemroot%\system32\config\system " file to become corrupted. This file is re-written at each boot-up.

What I did was access the drive from another operating system (Win XP) and went to %systemroot%\system32\config\ and renamed the old file from system to system.CRP(for crap:) ). I them renamed the existing file "SYSTEM.ALT" to "system" (without the quotes) and rebooted my computer. Everything was fine. It's safe to delete the crap file. I'm always in the habit of never deleting, always renaming when I troubleshoot.

In my case it was that fast because my PC dual boots. In your case you can either put the hard drive in another machine that uses NTFS (Win2000 or XP) or find one of those boot disk out there that will boot the machine from a CD and allow read/write access to your hard drive. BartPE or a Linux boot disk are options. Also look at bootdisk.com. He has a real nice ISO file that can be used to burn a boot disk that will allow read/write access to an NTFS partition.

BTW, %systemroot% is a Windows variable for the root (starting) folder of the operating system. I've seen Windows installed in C:\Windows and C:\WINNT.

Good luck!
-Dennis