Hello im a beginner and i want to know how to reformat my computer using Windows 7 ultimate, please teach me the step by step procedure i have here cd's of nvidia and emaxxx i dont know what is that should i install those two things before reformatting the computer?? i dont know what to do, im wasting so much money on hiring someone to reformat our computer. Thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

During a clean install of Windows 7, you have the opportunity to format the drive.

If I might add my recommendation:

My laptop has two internal hard drives. The first is partitioned as C (60 gig) and D (400 gig) (approximately). I have Windows 7 Pro and all my applications installed on C. I store no data on C that I am not willing to lose. I use Acronis to iimage my C partition. Acronis is a commercial product but I understand that Macrium Reflect comes in a free version and has been recommended by several sites. This is my process for setting up.

• Wipe C partition
  • Install and configure Windows 7 (activate)
  • Install all driver software
  • Install all Windows/driver updates
  • Install disk imaging software
  • Create basic system image
  • Install anti-virus
  • Install most used applications
  • Apply all outstanding anti-virus/application updates
  • Freeze Windows updates (details below)
  • Install and run CCleaner to remove all temporary files
  • Create final system image

At this point you have two images. The basic system image is your "I want to go back to a completely clean system. This one likely won't be used much. The second image is the important one. At some point you may find yourself infected with a trojan/virus/etc. Or your system may just be running slow. I find Windows does that after many months of use. Or you may have installed so much software that your system has gotten too cluttered. As long as you have kept all of your data on another drive (D, for example) it is a simple matter to refresh your system by doing the following: