1,105,288 Community Members

Vista Local Access Only Problem

Member Avatar
JUGS446
Newbie Poster
12 posts since Mar 2007
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hey guys,

I just got a HP Pavilion dv6000 a few weeks ago with Vista Home Premium already installed on it. Im having some trouble getting my wireless connection to work. It worked once for a few hours but then just decided to stop. When I plug in my ethernet cable, my internet works just fine. But when I try to connect via wireless it says im connected but with Local Access only. It also shows that im connected to multiple networks when I plug in my ethernet cable and turn on my wireless router. It wont connect to the internet or anything. I've tried everything from restarting and power cycling the router and modem to renewing the IP address. The automatic diagnose and repair option does nothing for me. My cousin who has XP on his laptop is able to connect using my wireless signal and even my PSP can connect to the internet using the same signal. Can anyone pleassssseee help me??? Ive been reading all sorts of forums and am about to throw my computer accross the room. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks.

Member Avatar
RTC
Light Poster
33 posts since May 2004
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
1
 

Here are some things you can try with increasing severity...

1) Go into network connections, find your wireless network connection icon, right-click it and disable it. Re-enable it and see if you can get online.

2) as above, but reboot after disabling, and once your computer comes back on, re-enable.

3) Go into Device Manager, find your wireless network adapter, uninstall it, and reboot the computer. Vista should detect it and hopefully automatically install it again. You may need the driver disk that came with your computer though.

Honestly there's only a 50/50 shot this addresses your problem, but its worth a try, and you'd kick yourself if you didn't do it before you threw your compy out a window ;)

Member Avatar
JUGS446
Newbie Poster
12 posts since Mar 2007
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

thanks for the help rtc. but that didnt work. any other suggestions?

Member Avatar
Laser
Posting Whiz
356 posts since Sep 2004
Reputation Points: 84 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 45 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Try HP's site and download the latest drivers for your notebook's chipset and wireless network hardware.

Member Avatar
RTC
Light Poster
33 posts since May 2004
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Let me see if I have this right.:

Your PSP wireless to your router to the internet = works?

Your friends XP machine wireless to your router to the internet = works?

Your Vista machine wireless to your router to the internet = local access only?

Your Vista machine plugged into your router to the internet = no internet?

Try pressing Windows key + R, and type cmd and press enter.

At the command prompt, type ipconfig /all and press enter.

Copy and paste all the info that comes up here and maybe it will give us some clues.

I hope we can get this figured out. ;)

Member Avatar
JUGS446
Newbie Poster
12 posts since Mar 2007
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Alright..so i did what you said RTC. Everything you asked is correct expect for when my Vista machine is plugged in to my router it does work. Its just that wireless doesnt work. Thanks for all the help.

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.
C:\Users\Juggy Tut>ipconfig /all
Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : JuggyTut
Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-36-C9-8B-87
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::f042:ea37:825d:e01%10(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.33(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, April 03, 2007 5:14:22 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, April 06, 2007 5:14:22 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 134223414
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-73-07-99-C5
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::4cf7:9d61:478e:2e5c%9(Preferred)
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.46.92(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 151001715
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%2
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%2
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%2
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{FAB96CA8-9B8F-4E8B-B927-B71C774C0
507}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.33%11(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{3880EF31-5B81-471D-B30A-DC0F98512
EEE}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:169.254.46.92%13(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%2
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%2
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%2
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::30fb:184c:3f57:fede%8(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 10:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
C:\Users\Juggy Tut>
Member Avatar
RTC
Light Poster
33 posts since May 2004
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I'm assuming you copied and pasted that when you were connected to the wireless router wirelessly? From the looks of it you were currently plugged into the router but not connected wirelessly. If you were connected wirelessly when you printed that, then it looks like the computer isn't getting an ip address from the router for the wireless connection.

Go through all of that jazz where it detects wireless networks in range and lets you connect to it, and it's not WEP encrypted or any of that stuff, just a default settings open wireless router, right?

Well, after connecting to it wirelessly, go into that command prompt again and type ipconfig /renew Wireless* and press enter.

See what it prints you out on the screen. It'll either work and you should be online, or more than likely it will fail miserably and give you some more text to copy and paste in here. We're getting closer hopefully :)

Member Avatar
JUGS446
Newbie Poster
12 posts since Mar 2007
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

So im connected through my wireless..but still no internet. I tried to renew my ip config but there was an error as you can see below. So i did what you and copy and pasted all the stuff again. once again, thanks for the help.

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.
C:\Users\Juggy Tut> ipconfig /renew Wireless*
Windows IP Configuration
An error occurred while renewing interface Wireless Network Connection : unable
to contact your DHCP server. Request has timed out.
C:\Users\Juggy Tut> ipconfig/all
Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : JuggyTut
Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-73-07-99-C5
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2d6c:fbc4:191d:28a%11(Preferred)
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.2.138(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 151001715
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-36-C9-8B-87
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::f042:ea37:825d:e01%9(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.33(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, April 04, 2007 9:34:37 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, April 07, 2007 9:34:38 AM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 134223414
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{FAB96CA8-9B8F-4E8B-B927-B71C774C0
507}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.33%10(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{D49CB3E6-9326-477C-8A03-5D11BC8CE
967}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:169.254.2.138%12(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3025:32f5:3f57:fede%8(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
C:\Users\Juggy Tut>
Member Avatar
sennetor
Junior Poster in Training
89 posts since Nov 2003
Reputation Points: 5 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 9 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
1
 

Are you using WEP?
If so then you may need to retype your wireless passkey.

It just looks like your router is refusing to assign a DHCP address and Windows is going APIP on you.

Try disabling wireless security on your router temporarily.

Member Avatar
Freeform
Newbie Poster
1 post since Apr 2007
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
1
 

Hey guys,

I just got a HP Pavilion dv6000 a few weeks ago with Vista Home Premium already installed on it. Im having some trouble getting my wireless connection to work. It worked once for a few hours but then just decided to stop. When I plug in my ethernet cable, my internet works just fine. But when I try to connect via wireless it says im connected but with Local Access only. It also shows that im connected to multiple networks when I plug in my ethernet cable and turn on my wireless router. It wont connect to the internet or anything. I've tried everything from restarting and power cycling the router and modem to renewing the IP address. The automatic diagnose and repair option does nothing for me. My cousin who has XP on his laptop is able to connect using my wireless signal and even my PSP can connect to the internet using the same signal. Can anyone pleassssseee help me??? Ive been reading all sorts of forums and am about to throw my computer accross the room. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks.

What worked for me was going into the wireless connection properties, disabling IPv6, and instead using IPv4, & setting a DNS. For some odd reason IPv6 on vista seems to be quite a headache to a lot of people (my crap-o netgear router included). Hope this works for you. :)

Member Avatar
codenamerhubarb
Newbie Poster
1 post since Apr 2007
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
2
 

What worked for me was going into the wireless connection properties, disabling IPv6, and instead using IPv4, & setting a DNS. For some odd reason IPv6 on vista seems to be quite a headache to a lot of people (my crap-o netgear router included). Hope this works for you. :)

Thanks so much dude, this totally fixed my problem, hopefully it fixes jugs446's problem aswell.

Member Avatar
RTC
Light Poster
33 posts since May 2004
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I've seen quite a few networking issues pop up with Vista by now, and you are right, that does seem to fix a lot of them. I guess IPv6 isn't really used much if any yet and a lot of consumer gear must have conflicts with it. Its a nice idea that vista automatically put it in in preparation for the future... but we all know how extra complexity using protocols that aren't fully implemented goes. :/

On a side note, if removing IPv6 doesn't help Jugs446 then he could always try to assign a static IP to his wireless connection.

I don't have Vista in front of me ATM, so please bear with me the wording might not be exact, but to specify a static IP address you would need to: Get into the network connections, and right-click on the wireless network connection and choose properties. Find TCP/IP v 4, highlight it and click Properties , then move the dots from "obtain automatically" to specify, and type in, in Jug's case,:

Ip address: 192.168.1.120 (last octet should be a number between 2-254 and not in the range of numbers dynamically assigned by the router, Linksys routers usually give in the low hundreds so I would avoid those, but your router gave you 33. To be safe you could use 200 instead of 120, I was really just being arbitrary.)

subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway: 192.168.1.1

and give yourself 192.168.1.1 as your primary DNS. (If that doesn't work you could try the DNS server of your actual Internet service provider, you would find that out by bypassing the router, plugging straight in, and doing an ipconfig from a command prompt.)

Member Avatar
JUGS446
Newbie Poster
12 posts since Mar 2007
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

So i tried disabling IPV6..but that didnt work. I assigned a static IP address..and that didnt work either. Any other suggestions. I'm about to give up and get XP...

Member Avatar
JUGS446
Newbie Poster
12 posts since Mar 2007
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

the "Unidentified Network" problem and the "Multiple Networks" problem goes away...but still only Local Access for Wireless? How exactly do you disable IPv6. Wireless properties, and uncheck IPv6, right?

Member Avatar
JUGS446
Newbie Poster
12 posts since Mar 2007
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Does my DHCP need to be enabled for wireless? Because it is enabled for my ethernet, which works fine. If so, how do I go about doing that?

Member Avatar
JUGS446
Newbie Poster
12 posts since Mar 2007
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

you're not gonna believe this..but WIRELESS IS WORKING!!! Don't know what I did this time. But it works for now. Knowing my luck..it wont last very long.

Member Avatar
GeoffreyW
Newbie Poster
1 post since Apr 2007
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hi,

I had a similar problem with my laptop, and ended up solving it by editing the registry. There's a bit more about it here.

Member Avatar
caterina182
Newbie Poster
12 posts since Apr 2007
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hi. I've got the same problem and I want to try disabling the IPv6 and leaving the IPv4 and setting a DNS. But I only manage to to the first bit, I have no idea what a DNS is or how to set one up!

I'm thinking this is gonna solve the problem but I don't know how to do it! Please help!!!!

Member Avatar
caterina182
Newbie Poster
12 posts since Apr 2007
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hi. I've got the same problem and I want to try disabling the IPv6 and leaving the IPv4 and setting a DNS. But I only manage to to the first bit, I have no idea what a DNS is or how to set one up!

I'm thinking this is gonna solve the problem but I don't know how to do it! Please help!!!!

ok.... I know now. but it still didn't fix it. Help!

Member Avatar
JUGS446
Newbie Poster
12 posts since Mar 2007
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

So..its been two days and my wireless is still working better than ever. Caterina..what I did was disabled IPv6 and assigned a static IP address. I used 192.168.1.200 for the IP. 255.255.255.0 for subnet mask. and 192.168.1.1 for default gateway and 192.168.1.1 for DNS server. Try doing that? Thats what worked for my after a week of trying everything else. Hopefully it works for you.

You
This article has been dead for over three months: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
View similar articles that have also been tagged: