My wireless router hasnt worked since our power outage last tuesday. I've tried resetting and turning both modem and router on n off. Only way I can connect to internet is if I connect directly to modem. I've tried to go to routerlogin.net and i couldnt get the page to open. also tried 192.168.1.1 and 192.168.0.1 NETGEAR wants $99 for a year tech support subscription since my 30 day warranty expired. Comcast said its not on their end. I have W-Vista. When I connect the labtop to the modem internet works. Usually the cable goes from the modem to router. When I do that, signal strength is excellent but it says "Local only" and not Local and internet. The "i" icon lights up in yellow. Besides the internet port there are 1-2-3-4 lines that are also there. None of the numbers light up. Yesterday the 3rd line lit up in blue but now it doesnt. Its a netgear wpnt834 router.
HOw do I know if the router is shot? I am a college student and need internet like I need air lol. yes I know sad. I'm hoping my knight in shining cyber can save me!!!!! ARGH... I'm about to pound on my router with my 9 iron..... Help!!!
~SoozieQ :'(

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

well that all depends if you connect to the router with a cat 5 cable does it connect and get the ipaddress / dns / and gateway from the router ?