Member Avatar for jonnirhodes

Hi

I can connect to my network using my ethernet card or my wireless card, but when I open my browser (either internet explorer or mozilla) I am unable to browse the web - i just get the message saying that the page cannot be displayed. The same happens at other friends and at internet cafes....

The strange thing is that my antivirus software downloads updates no problem, and I am able to open the command prompt and ping any website at all with no problem

Also, if i dial up with my 56k internal modem, then I can use my browsers no problem.....

If anyone can help, then I will happily buy you a beer, cos this is really frustrating me....

I am using windows service pack 2, internet explorer 6 and en emachine m5312 laptop.....I can't think of anything that has changed since the last time i connected to the internet using the network, but i have been using dial up for the last 5 months due to the place i was living having no network.....

Hope someone can help

Cheers

Jonni

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

The one thing that comes to mind is in your browsers´ internet options. Check to see, under connections, if you have it set to ¨always dial a connection¨. Try setting it to ¨dial whenever a connection is not present¨and see if that fixes the problem...

Hi Z

Thanks for that, but yeah it is already set to dial whenever a connection is not present.

In a breakthrough today, I managed to get it to connect at an internet cafe. But for some reason it only works there - it wont work at other internet cafe's and wont work on my network like it used to!!!!

This is driving me nuts, and i am rapidly heading to a reinstall of everything if I can't sort it out...

Thanks though......

any other ideas???

Jonni