I bought this laptop yesterday from Staples. It is a Compaq Presario with XP. It is fully ready for internet with all the built in wireless stuff. I was playing on it today and it said that there was a wireless network to connect to and asked if I would like to connect. I said yes, and then got on AIM. AIM connected fine but my dialup box came up asking if I want to work offline or connect (via dialup). I cancelled it and tried to get on a web site, but my browser said that it needed to connect via dialup in order to work.

I am really new at wireless and I am really confused. The salesman at the store said I need DSL or cable in order to use my wireless at home, well I live in the boonies of no where at my moms and dsl and cable are unavailable. At my dads trying to get him to switch to anything is going to be a challenge enough. So I've heard I need a wireless router inorder to make the internet thing work at my houses and such, so can I get a wireless router that works with dialup? Do I have to buy two since I drive back and forth from my moms to my dads from week to weekend (Its a long story about work and college.)

Also, I am planning on going to out to my boyfriends in California in 3 weeks and would like to use my lap top and get online out there, but then do I need a router to use my wireless out there. His family has DSL, but the getting to the cords are a hassle in itself. OR will I be able to pick up a signal and be able to work online/ on the internet without a router. I am so confused because I have people telling me so many conflicting solutions.

Any help would be AMAZING! Thanks. :mrgreen:
Jamie*Lynn

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Hi Jamie,

I´m going to try and make this as simple as possible.

To get onto the internet you need to have an account with someone, whether it´s dialup, DSL or cable.