Dear All
i am not a computer professioanal but i know how to write the programmes in oracle, VB and webpage development..... I am working in a organization. now this organization wants to install networking..... this responsibility has been kept on my shoulders..... honestly speaking i dont know much about the networking but i accepted this task very happily..... in this regard i have started the study..... i found this forum which seemed me pretty one and you people guide me very well coz you guys are fully engaged in this field......
the building where is our office consist on 3 floor and a basement..... we r going to install 60 PCs with networking..... and we have to make database so that all users may share the data and we also inted to give the facility of internet through networking...... the important thing as such there is no budget constraints it is left at my discretion how much i spend on networking...
hope you will guide me in this regard..... i am waiting for your prompt response......

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

Which facet of this do you need help with? What you describe is a very broad scenario, and one with many options.

You say you have no experience in network design and administration. Does this mean that you will be responsible for hiring an outside company to do the installation and configuration, or are you expected to attempt this yourself? If the later, I'd highly suggest you reconsider. No offence meant, but designing and implementing a 60-node network isn't something that you just read up on and then go out and do.

Some (totally random) thoughts:

- Will wireless be involved?

- Are you going to have a company Email server on the network? If so, and assuming you'll be using Microsoft products, you'll need someone who know how to build and maintain Exchange servers.