I am an IT Professional for a large suburban hotel that is 40+ years old. We are experiencing a high percentage of internet issues in the guest room areas, and I’m looking for feedback from other IT professionals on my situation. The owners have given us a project budget that will cover replacing our existing system. The Senior Hotel Management Team and I have a difference of opinion on how to spend project monies to improve our product and customer satisfaction.

Not too long ago, I engaged several local vendors to tour our site and complete a site survey of the phone line infrastructure in the guest room area. In small IDF closets, our punch-down blocks are corroding due to age & moisture and in many cases this corrosion extends to the end points in the guest rooms. I sought professionals to document the existing conditions and create a trip report. We are being told the wire to the guest rooms is pre-cat1, “jake wire” (standard red, yellow, green, black wires with no twists).

Our current internet solution is DSL, the DSL chassis are in a head end room and modem devices are in the guest rooms. About a quarter of the rooms have modem/access points to give us wireless access throughout the building. The brand and model of equipment our high speed internet provider supplied & installed is subpar at best. Now that we have had the current equipment for 4 years we are experiencing hardware failures and our vendor is no longer purchasing/supplying this older style, which is only compounding our problems. We are preparing to remodel ¾ of the building near the end of the 2011 year and want to ensure that the long term solution is superior.