Is it becasue of the ISP's bandwitdth spread among many lines/people/clients ?

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

yes, inadequate hardware

I am kind of looking for a more detialed answer,technical .
thanks

This depends on your type of installation.

Many cable companies and some fiber installs utilize shared bandwidth into an area. Imaging a 10 meg pipe into your apartment building (it's not really like this but just for explanations sake).

If you are the only person in the building using the service, you get all 10 meg.

If there are 20 people in the building all using the service, but you are the only one online, you still get all 10 meg.

If its 8PM and everyone is trying to stream netflix, now that 10 meg line is shared between all 20 people.

what about the wireless technology? HSDPA. lookig for a detailed answer with more techincal explanations
thanks

I am a performance engineer for a tier one mobile phone manufacturer in their web browser division. We run virtual mozilla browsers to fetch, process, render, and scale web pages for our users' mobile phones - millions of users all over the world. This situation (slowdown during peak hours) is not uncommon, and has many contributing causes, from the capacity of the phone company (carrier), to our capacity to process the users' requests efficiently, to the capacity of the web sites being accessed. Needless to say, Facebook, Twitter, and Google are those with the biggest loads (and pipes/capacity). But, all things have their limits! That is why we are studying ways to cache those most commonly accessed pages during busy hours so we can provide our users with the snappiest performance possible. We monitor latencies (time to get service and relevant data) at all links in the chain, from the handset to the carrier, to our data centers, to the target web sites, between our server components, and back to the handset, and we exert a LOT of effort to improve the experience continuously.