1,105,546 Community Members

Treadmill and Modem Don't Get Along

Member Avatar
maui_mallard
Veteran Poster
1,073 posts since Feb 2006
Reputation Points: 9 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 5 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hello,

I have been having an issue where when I run on my treadmill my 2 Wire modem (From Bell Canada) encounters an error of some sort and turns off my internet access.

I have heard from many people that it's possible a small surge is being sent of the power lines when the treadmill is on and it is causing some sort of interference.

I have tried powering the modem into a different outlet, and that was to no success. I tred placing the modem at a different "jack" but apaprently only one jack in my house will supply internet to the modem. When I plug the modem in a different jack, it just blinks and internet light will never turn on.

Does anyone have any ideas? I've tried calling my ISP but they suggest not running on the treadmill when the interent is needed ....

I appreciate all help!

Thanks.

Member Avatar
JorgeM
IT Addict
6,418 posts since Dec 2011
Reputation Points: 581 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 963 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 172 [?]
Moderator
Featured
Sponsor
 
0
 

Connecting the modem to a UPS device would probably resolve the issue. However, some UPS devices provide power from their batteries 100% of the time which is what you want vs the inexpensive ones that only supply power from the battery when power is cut off. Do some research. You want a UPS that provides a constant steady power.

Member Avatar
maui_mallard
Veteran Poster
1,073 posts since Feb 2006
Reputation Points: 9 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 5 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I appreciate the reply. I have heard this from many people. I have been just hesitant to spend money on that, I was hoping to find a solution that was a little cheaper.

Member Avatar
JorgeM
IT Addict
6,418 posts since Dec 2011
Reputation Points: 581 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 963 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 172 [?]
Moderator
Featured
Sponsor
 
0
 

The cheap solution unfortunately is the one your ISP suggested.

Member Avatar
maui_mallard
Veteran Poster
1,073 posts since Feb 2006
Reputation Points: 9 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 5 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Ok, thank you very much. I'll check back in when I've tried it.

Member Avatar
remixedcat
Newbie Poster
17 posts since Aug 2011
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I highly recommend a UPS for all networking gear. The cost is worth it in the reduced frustrations.

Member Avatar
caperjack
I hate 20 Questions
13,851 posts since Aug 2003
Reputation Points: 875 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 902 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 69 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

get a manual treadmill, lol

Member Avatar
maui_mallard
Veteran Poster
1,073 posts since Feb 2006
Reputation Points: 9 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 5 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Update:

I got an UPS, and it did not help. At first I got 7 minutes out of it, then it cut out. Now I'm only getting 30s to 2min out of it.

Any other ideas?

Member Avatar
whipaway
Junior Poster
131 posts since Feb 2002
Reputation Points: 1 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 2 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

It would appear that the treadmill is impressing noise upon the phone line. A, EMI filter installed on the phone line might be the answer to your problem. Many telcos provide this device free of charge. Depending upon the device, it either installs in-line with your phone line via modular jacks, or else is hard wired at the demarc or NID.

You
This article has been dead for over three months: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
View similar articles that have also been tagged: