Hi, Im a newbie in tis networking stuff. Recently I juz bought a netgear G wireless router model wgp614 v.6. I followed thru the steps in the cd connecting my ethernet modem to router & router to pc but Im not able to connect to Internet. Ive done it a few times & still no connection. My ethernet modem lights & router lights are all lighted up correctly as shown in the troubleshooting guide & stable so I was wondering what went wrong. I have no knowledge abt networking & am desperate for help! Because I cant establish internet connection on my desktop, Im stuck & thus unable to configure my wireless connection to my laptop. Kind souls out there.. pls pls help me..:sad: :sad: :sad:

olivia987 commented: Thanks for the information. +0

Recommended Answers

All 29 Replies

no worries, take it easy, its a bit scary at first i know, firstly can you connect to the confirguration page? the address of this can be obtained from ipconfig next to `default gateway`, if you can, are you able to ping any websites?

after that, in command prompt type in the following, this will creat a text file on your desktop with all your current settings etc

ipconfig /all >"%userprofile%"\desktop\ipconfig.txt

darren

You should configure your router with a hard wired connection if possible. On some routers, wireless isn't even on by default, so you're forced to use cables.

Open your web browser, and enter the IP address (do what darren said), although it's usually 192.168.0.1

If this does not work on a hard-wired connection, you should check that the light is on for the port you are using on the router.

im configuring with a hard wired connection as i want to connect the router to my desktop first. At home i will be only connecting my desktop to router(wired) & my laptop(wireless). but after connecting the router i cant login to the router page as there's no internet connection & browser shows page cannot be displayed

i cant login to the router page as there's no internet connection