1,105,456 Community Members

How do I know if my laptop is WiFI ready

Member Avatar
sidoe
Junior Poster in Training
61 posts since May 2004
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
-6
 

I'm not sure if my laptop has WiFi built in. How can I tell?

Member Avatar
MAD_DOG
Practically a Master Poster
626 posts since Feb 2002
Reputation Points: 35 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 14 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

What kind of labtop is it?

Member Avatar
sidoe
Junior Poster in Training
61 posts since May 2004
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Compaq presario 900us

What kind of labtop is it?

Member Avatar
MAD_DOG
Practically a Master Poster
626 posts since Feb 2002
Reputation Points: 35 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 14 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
-1
 

www.compaq.com or www.hp.com look up your labtop and see if it has built in WiFi

Member Avatar
sidoe
Junior Poster in Training
61 posts since May 2004
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
1
 

nope i don't have it .. next question is how can I get it? thx

www.compaq.com or www.hp.com look up your labtop and see if it has built in WiFi

Member Avatar
kc0arf
Posting Virtuoso
1,913 posts since Mar 2004
Reputation Points: 53 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 66 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

Hello,

I don't know if you are running Windoze or Linux, but you should be able to go to the Device Manager (windows) or ifconfig (Linux) and see if there is a network device installed.

You can get WiFi with PCMCIA cards. There are two options: 802.11(b) {more common, slower, widely avail) or 802.11(g) {faster, not as common}. I have a (g) card that will go down to (b) when necessary. You might also be limited on speed in consideration of what transmitter you have in your house. Again, I got a dual speed unit to support more options.

Enjoy,

Christian

Member Avatar
LISAMAXY05
Newbie Poster
1 post since Jan 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Ita a windows vista basic

Member Avatar
Tieyshia
Newbie Poster
1 post since Jul 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

My windows xp professional crashed I had to reload windows xp home addition service pack 1 back onto it how do I find the wifi that I had before it crashed.

Member Avatar
zxor 2
Junior Poster in Training
65 posts since Oct 2009
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 1 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

check the model no and serial number on the manufacturers website the mod no will give you list but the system number will give you all the details about your laptop and the parts inside it

Member Avatar
gaylon
Newbie Poster
1 post since Nov 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

My laptop is a Compaq model 2140us using windows xp sp 2, how can iterll if it has wi-fi or is wi-fi capable and where can i download the programs

You
This article has been dead for over three months: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
Tags Related to this Article