ok I'm not a complete noob, I just havn't had the proper experience setting up a network. I tried searching for a little bit on this website but didn't find the exact situation I had. I'm sorry, but I've been in a little frustration and am just desireous to speek to someone who can tell me exactly what I'm doing wrong (or right).

I'm visiting my mothers house right now and I brought over my computer. She has a cable modem setup in her house to use the internet. In order to get internet on my computer, I have to unplug (power) the cable modem and turn on my computer. Make sure the modem is unplugged for atleast 10 seconds and then plug it in. Wait for all the lights to blink in the proper form, and then turn on my computer. Also, my computer has the IP settings set to all Automatic. Because the modem will send the ip configuration to the computer.

This is what I have to do in order to get internet to either her computer, or mine. So, this year I brought a router with me. It is a router we used at our house for our network. It's a Linksys EtherFast Cable/DSL Router ( model # BEFSR41 ).

Now this is where I am running into problems. I'm not EXACTLY sure how to make my modem, router, and computer speak with each other. I know to do this much (and I'm almost positive I'm doing everything right up to this point.

1. I set my computer IP setting to 192.168.1.2 this is so I can log into my linksys router.
2. I set my router to "Automatically detect WAN configuration" (and yes, there's a ethernet cable connected from the WAN port to the cable modem)
3. I save those settings, and turn my computer off, unplug my router, and then unplug my modem.
4. I wait for ATLEAST 10 seconds (was told this by my ISP, charter) then turn on my cable modem. Wait for all the lights to blink in the proper format, then plug in my router. The router's lights blink for a moment, then work fine. I then turn on my computer.