I have a compaq presario m2031ap that used to be able to connect wireless at home but now, since i've reformatted it, it won't connect. I'm totally new to this stuff so i apologise for any words that aren't exactly correct. The presario (laptop) usually connects to the net via a modem and D-link (both connected - wired) to a desktop computer downstairs. 2 other laptops in teh house (a mac and a toshiba) connect without issues it's just this one that is giving me grief. I've ran ipconfig and it says that both the ethernet adapter wireless network connection (broadcom 802.11 b/g wlan) and ethernet adapter local area connection (realtek rtl8139/810x family fast ethernet nic) is disconnected. i've ran ping 127.0.0.1 (i don't know if this is relevant) but all 4 packets sent were received. i don't understand what's going on if 2 laptops can connect wireless but one can't. i tried it at a mate's house and it connected fine so i'm guessing something might be wrong with the network itself? but then why is it saying that the media is disconnected? as you can tell.. i have no real idea what i'm doing. if anyone could offer some help, i'd really appreciate it. thanks heaps!

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies