Windows XP Sp2
Netgear dual speed DS106 hub 10/100
Norton Anti-virus 2005
Mac Make up - Mac ip spoofer
PeerGaurdian

Ive been sharing a cable connection with my roomate for the last 5 months no problem.
We were able to both get on simultaneously after he installed mac make up on his system and spoofed my mac address. Everything has been fine until yesterday.
It seems that anytime he is plugged into the hub I automatically disconnect from the network.
If I disconnect him, I instantly get back on the network.
Ive tried unplugging the hub for while to reset it, I tried different ports on the hub, Both of us have done a restore point in XP to several days ago before it happen (no help), He still has mac makeup installed on his system and it still has my mac address in there. I reinstalled my network components in windows, no help.
It seems like something really easy with the symptoms but my network ability is limited.
If someone can point me out in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated.
Let me know if you need more info,
Thanks in advance,
-Dogmatic

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Assuming you have no router, it may be that the other end, the ISP, has set some policies to prevent what you're doing.

I would have thought that if you come out of the cable modem into the switch and then distribute to two PCs, you wouldn't need to do any MAC address spoofing.

Can you tell us more?

Assuming you have no router, it may be that the other end, the ISP, has set some policies to prevent what you're doing.

I would have thought that if you come out of the cable modem into the switch and then distribute to two PCs, you wouldn't need to do any MAC address spoofing.

Can you tell us more?