1,105,295 Community Members

Two monitors displaying identical image?

Member Avatar
Kamex
Junior Poster
133 posts since May 2004
Reputation Points: 2 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Is it possible to connect two monitors to a computer, both displaying the same image?

Member Avatar
Coconut Monkey
Inside your PC
616 posts since May 2004
Reputation Points: 40 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 13 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

See this topic and the site I linked to.

Member Avatar
Kamex
Junior Poster
133 posts since May 2004
Reputation Points: 2 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
-1
 

I'm not trying to have two monitors displaying different things. I'm trying to have two monitors display the same thing, which I would think would be less complicated. Perhaps it ends up being more complicated?

Member Avatar
Catweazle
Grandad
4,257 posts since Mar 2004
Reputation Points: 140 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 163 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 4 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

What you need is a 'KVM switch' or a 'Video splitter'.

http://www.kvm-switches-online.com/video-splitters.html

Member Avatar
Coconut Monkey
Inside your PC
616 posts since May 2004
Reputation Points: 40 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 13 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

I'm not trying to have two monitors displaying different things. I'm trying to have two monitors display the same thing, which I would think would be less complicated. Perhaps it ends up being more complicated?

You can set it so that the display is "cloned" rather than "extended".

Or just get a video splitter. :P

Member Avatar
manimmad
Newbie Poster
1 post since Apr 2007
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

how do u set it to clone instead of extended??

Member Avatar
smartvm
Newbie Poster
1 post since Mar 2008
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Best place for this is Rackmount LCD Monitor

VGA extenders and

KVM extender allows you to extend PS2 keyboard, PS2 mouse and VGA video remotely up to 1000 feet away from a computer. KVM extenders are ideal for applications like public broadcasting, banks, classrooms, tradeshows, and other mission critical locations.

Member Avatar
chris5126
Posting Pro in Training
412 posts since Feb 2006
Reputation Points: 26 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 15 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

the simplest solution is to set it to clone rather than extended (as somone alreadt mentioned) however not all graphics cards will support this mode check with the manufacture on thier website! hope this helps.

Member Avatar
chris5126
Posting Pro in Training
412 posts since Feb 2006
Reputation Points: 26 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 15 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

if your video card does support it it will either be in the properties menu (right click on desktop then properties) under avanced or a setting on the video card control pannel ie nvidia control pannel.

You
This article has been dead for over three months: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
Tags Related to this Article