1,105,633 Community Members

LCD anyone?

Member Avatar
bassman11
Newbie Poster
16 posts since Jul 2003
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I have an old Compaq Armada laptop. The display is covered with white horizontal lines, and green red, and blu vertical lines. Kind of like a graph. Does anyone know how to clear this. :?:

Member Avatar
Dani
The Queen of DaniWeb
20,577 posts since Feb 2002
Reputation Points: 1,356 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 931 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 204 [?]
Administrator
Featured
Sponsor
 
0
 

Does it run Windows? DOS? Does this hapen in both or only Windows or ...?

Member Avatar
bassman11
Newbie Poster
16 posts since Jul 2003
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

It's runnin NT 4.0. It stays on all the time. It is "On top" of the display. I tooled around with the display setting but nothing seemed to work.

Member Avatar
Dani
The Queen of DaniWeb
20,577 posts since Feb 2002
Reputation Points: 1,356 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 931 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 204 [?]
Administrator
Featured
Sponsor
 
0
 

Refresh rate possibly?

Member Avatar
bassman11
Newbie Poster
16 posts since Jul 2003
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I tried that but the only setting available is " hardware default" There is no way to change the refresh. I can change all the display properties but that.

Member Avatar
bassman11
Newbie Poster
16 posts since Jul 2003
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I tried that but the only setting available is " hardware default" There is no way to change the refresh. I can change all the display properties but that.

Member Avatar
Dani
The Queen of DaniWeb
20,577 posts since Feb 2002
Reputation Points: 1,356 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 931 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 204 [?]
Administrator
Featured
Sponsor
 
0
 

you change the refresh rate from inside windows? display properties and then to advanced?? then to monitor settings?

you don't have that?

Member Avatar
bassman11
Newbie Poster
16 posts since Jul 2003
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Yeah I know that. There is a pull down bow that has all the possible display setting in them. When you pull it down it'll say 800x600 256 colors (hardware default refresh)
That is one example but all the choices have the hardware default as possible refresh,no other refresh rate listed.

Member Avatar
bassman11
Newbie Poster
16 posts since Jul 2003
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

The thing looks like a big grid placed on the screen. I've thought of the basic stuff like refresh rate, .....................display settings.

Member Avatar
bassman11
Newbie Poster
16 posts since Jul 2003
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

It is a Compaq Laptop I'm working on.

Member Avatar
TallCool1
Practically a Posting Shark
864 posts since May 2003
Reputation Points: 81 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 46 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 1 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

I have an old Compaq Armada laptop. The display is covered with white horizontal lines, and green red, and blu vertical lines. Kind of like a graph. Does anyone know how to clear this?

To me, monitor repairman that I am, it sounds like bad contacts between the driver electronics and the display itself. One relatively easy test for this problem is as follows:

With the unit on, gently grasp the left and right edges of the display. Gently twist the display (no more than a few ounces of pressure) as though you are wringing out a towel. See if the display flashes, changes, etc. This may even fix the problem.

Try changing the display angle, a bit more open or closed, with power on. Changes at this point indicate a cable problem.

It's also possible that one of the driver chips is actually defective. In this case, the above tests will have little or no effect.

Unfortunately, in any case it is likely that the display is essentially beyond economical repair.

DISCLAIMER: While nothing I'm descriibing here is likely to cause any permanent damage, I cannot be held reponsible for negative outcomes -- but I don't see how you could make it any worse short of outright abuse.

Member Avatar
bassman11
Newbie Poster
16 posts since Jul 2003
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

That is interesting. I didnt really think of the reason why to do that, but I did try that already to no avail. I appreciate everyones input and suggestions. Thanks.

You
This article has been dead for over three months: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
Tags Related to this Article