1,105,585 Community Members

RAM specs for Dell Optiplex GX260

Member Avatar
sarayewo
Newbie Poster
2 posts since Jun 2009
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hi all,

I own a Dell Optiplex GX260, and my computer started acting up a few days ago, not wanting to boot to BIOS. So I played around and figured out that one of my RAM sticks went bad (I had 2x 512 DDR - PC2100).

So, I decided that this would be a good time to upgrade my RAM and started looking to what's compatible with my motherboard.

Now, when I went to Dell's website and looked for RAM that's compatible, it showed a Dell memory with the following specs: DDR PC3200 - NON-ECC Unbuffered.

This RAM is fairly expensive in Europe... or should I say I can find other sticks much cheaper. If I find a different RAM with the same specs, will it be compatible?

Also, would memory with frequency of PC2700 work as well? Again, logically, it's in the frequency range between the old (PC2100) and the new (PC3200).

Thanks!

Member Avatar
letmeinnow
Newbie Poster
1 post since Jul 2009
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Guys I'm going to bump this thread. I have the exact same scenario as the OP. I need new ram for my Optiplex GX260 as well.

Not sure what OP was saying. As far as I can tell the original Mobo included with the GX260 cannot support anything above DDR 2100, or am I wrong?

Here is the original documentation with the system, as far as memory:
http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/opgx260/en/ug/specs.htm#1112456

Thanks for any help!

Member Avatar
sarayewo
Newbie Poster
2 posts since Jun 2009
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I never got an answer to this question, so I ended up buying the memory from Dell (Belgium)... It was somewhat more expensive, but they had a special with free shipping, so it kind of came to the same bottom line.

I bought 2x 1gb sticks, @PC3200, Non-ECC, and they work like a charm.

You can find more details here:

http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/products/Memory_Upgrades/productdetail.aspx?c=us&l=en&s=dhs&cs=19&sku=A0740413&mfgpid=190898

Member Avatar
Josh Connerty
Posting Whiz
358 posts since Apr 2009
Reputation Points: 20 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 29 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 1 [?]
 
0
 

Yes sorry I haven;t replied, the RAM with the higher frequency should clock down to the maximum supported frequency of your motherboard.

The reason DDR RAM is so expensive is due to the fact that they are no longer mass produced as all new computers are using DDR2 or DDR3 RAM.

You can convert your PC to a DDR2 Dual-Core system for around £160 from novatech (http://novatech.co.uk/) this is an english company if this will cause any isues. But I am sure there are more european companies similar to novatech.

Member Avatar
petewoods
Newbie Poster
1 post since Nov 2009
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I also have a Dell Gx 260 and I was very much able to install 2x512 pc2700 ram with absolutely no problems at all system noticed and accepted new ram without a hitch one.

Member Avatar
zxor 2
Junior Poster in Training
65 posts since Oct 2009
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 1 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I dont think that was the type of ram to install in the computer and second if this is a gx260 isnt that a pentium 4 processor system this the speed should be pc2100 not 2700

Member Avatar
mandawg
Newbie Poster
1 post since Feb 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

yes the gx260 system is rated for the 266mhz pc 2100 ram.

But I installed 2x512 333mhz pc2700 in my gx260 machine without a
problem or hitch one.

And you can install up to 2gb ram 1gbx2 of pc2700 ram

Member Avatar
khayaban
Newbie Poster
1 post since Sep 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

i got dell gx 260 mini tower with ddr now its very difficult to find ddr rams so can i change my ddr to ddr2???

Member Avatar
caperjack
I hate 20 Questions
13,851 posts since Aug 2003
Reputation Points: 875 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 902 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 69 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

i got dell gx 260 mini tower with ddr now its very difficult to find ddr rams so can i change my ddr to ddr2???

answer is quite simply, no, sorry
were do you live ,as it should not be hard to find ddr ram .most computer store still carry[around me anyway ] it or will order you some in

You
This article has been dead for over three months: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
Tags Related to this Article