I Have a Packard Bell Imedia 2215. I have been running this with 2X1gb RAM for the past 2 years when all of a sudden I had the blue screen of death. I had a computer expert come out and told me that it had blown one of the RAM. He got the computer working again but only with 1gb as we had no replacement memory. Since then I have bought 2X2gb RAM to upgrade it, however, this is where I have lost it! If I put both 2gb sticks in it will not start (no BIOS beep). If I put 1X2gb and 1X1gb in it will not start either. If I put the 1gb stick in either slot (it has 2) then it will start. I then bought another 1gb stick to put in as before with the eisting 1gb stick, however when I put these in together to make 2gb in total I get the blue screen again. So in summary 2X1gb produces blue screen, 1X1gb works, any other combination it does not work at all. I have checked the RAM is all of the same type etc so should be fine. I have checked the maximum RAM allowable and this should be 4gb so no issues there.
I am at a total loss, if anyone has any suggestions I would be grateful to hear them. Be gentle I am not that technical! Thanks Mark.

Recommended Answers

All 22 Replies

What type and speed ram did you get? It will be on the labels on the sticks.

the 2gb was kingston pc2 5300 667 and the 1gb was samsung pc2 5300 667. I also bought a 2gb from pc world the same spec as above (their own brand) which was one of the ones that didnt work, but have taken this back today and got a refund.

Do the sticks have their ras to cas timings on them? Should be 4 numbers with a dash in between each. Example 2-3-3-5.

I do not see anything like the numbers you suggest. Anything else that might help?

What version of windows are you using on it?