Dear friends. I have been using an external hard drive for over several months now to back up my files, till one day i discovered the stored files could not be accessed, for reasons only known to the computer. It does store still, it seems to me; but i could not access the files stored in there. It hid?

Recommended Answers

All 28 Replies

Dear friends. I have been using an external hard drive for over several months now to back up my files, till one day i discovered the stored files could not be accessed, for reasons only known to the computer. It does store still, it seems to me; but i could not access the files stored in there. It hid?

When you say you're backing up your files, are you using the inbuilt "back up and restore" wizard, or are you backing up manually?? The reason that I ask is that back-ups (either partial or full disk images) are inaccessible to anything BUT Windows... the user cannot open those folders up.

The reason for this is to make it is as unlikely as possible for those back-up images to be corrupted or tampered with in any way.

When you say you're backing up your files, are you using the inbuilt "back up and restore" wizard, or are you backing up manually??

Dear kaninelupus:

Not manually. I use the drive manager for the Free Agent
External Hard Drive. I wanted to mention the brand of my external hard drive, but is that allowed or necessary?

The reason that I ask is that back-ups (either partial or full disk images) are inaccessible to anything BUT Windows... the user cannot open those folders up.