1,105,344 Community Members

External HDD has no Drive Letter

Member Avatar
Siberian
Posting Pro in Training
460 posts since Jan 2008
Reputation Points: 1 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I have an external HDD that works on any other machine I test it on, except mine. It was previously working and recently I needed to use it and it didn't work. It appears in device manager, not in disk management. A drive letter might not be assigned to it, although I can't see it in disk management to assign a drive letter to it.

Member Avatar
JorgeM
IT Addict
6,414 posts since Dec 2011
Reputation Points: 581 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 963 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 172 [?]
Moderator
Featured
Sponsor
 
0
 

It should at least appear as a foreign drive in device manager. Hmmm. Does your USB interface require a special driver? Checked the vendor's website for support?

Member Avatar
Nick Evan
Industrious Poster
4,827 posts since Oct 2006
Reputation Points: 4,005 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 560 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 30 [?]
Team Colleague
Featured
 
0
 

What windows version are you using?

Member Avatar
CimmerianX
Practically a Master Poster
661 posts since Jul 2010
Reputation Points: 53 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 83 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 13 [?]
 
0
 

In device manager, does it show a yellow !?

If device manager shows it without any errors, hop over to disk management and force a rescan/refresh. IT should show up here. FYI, you can't assign a drive letter to a drive, just to a partition on the drive.

Member Avatar
franceee
Newbie Poster
7 posts since Oct 2007
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

The problem is you most properbly have a few drive letters and the hdd is trying to use one that is already taken, go into computer manager and change the cd drive letter to z or manually give the external hdd a drive letter, it will then pick this letter up every time you plug it into the offending laptop/pc

Member Avatar
Barber2012
Light Poster
26 posts since May 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
-1
 

windows vesion?

Member Avatar
sheikhali449
Junior Poster
156 posts since Jul 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 7 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

version of windows doesn't seem to be problem here for me..

Member Avatar
razib8bd
Light Poster
34 posts since Apr 2013
Reputation Points: -2 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

may be for win version. u can promt drive latter . go= control panel>
amdimintrativ tools>computer managementdisk management>right button click
on ur "no name HHD" & select change drive latter & paths & give all informatioin

You
This article has been dead for over three months: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
Tags Related to this Article