1,105,340 Community Members

I can see my second hard drive in Device manager but not in 'My Computer'

Member Avatar
danant69
Newbie Poster
7 posts since Apr 2006
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
-3
 

I joined this forum recently and found everyone so helpful that I thought I would return as I now have another problem and want to learn more.

I have jsut assembled a new system, I have it set up with a small c: drive (20gb) that has windows xp installed on it, I also have a dvd drive (e:) and a cd drive (d:). I have just plugged in a second hard drive (Maxtor 80gb) to be used for saving 'documents' on such as photos, the new drive is visible within device manager but when I go into 'My Computer' it is not showing.
Device manager states that the drivers are all up to date etc.

I am at a loss as to why it cannot be seen or used. Any one got any ideas??

Thanks in advance
Dan :)

Member Avatar
nizzy1115
Practically a Posting Shark
854 posts since Jan 2005
Reputation Points: 14 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 19 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Is your second hard drive new? Did you format it yet? If not, you can use the maxtor utility that came on the cd with the drive to format it. You should see it then.

Member Avatar
danant69
Newbie Poster
7 posts since Apr 2006
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
-1
 

Yes it is new but it didnt come with any driver utilities or disks at all, it just came on its own from Novatech. I thought you should still be able to see a second drive in my computer even unformatted and be able to format it in there? I am also unable to see it if I go to a dos prompt as I did think about trying to format it there.

Member Avatar
danant69
Newbie Poster
7 posts since Apr 2006
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
1
 

Well I have managed to fix my problem. I attempted to download the Maxtor utility drivers from their website and use them but to no avail.
To solve it I had to right-click 'My Computer' and select Manage, when in there I had to click on 'Disk Management' and then right cick the drive to enable it and then format it from there - hey presto a second drive working.

I hope this can help someone else with the same problem.

Member Avatar
GrimJack
Posting Maven
2,928 posts since Feb 2004
Reputation Points: 1,395 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 78 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
Featured
 
0
 

Dan, I can't believe that it was that simple!!!
I have been unable to see my SATA drive since forever (it had disappeared after my 1st system drive crashed) even though all the management tools could see that a drive was present. I tried everything (or so I thought!) - but....
I followed your instructions up to clicking on disk management; there it was listed as 'foreign' -- I clicked on 'import foreign' and voila! I have my disk back after months of frustration.

Just to make sure - I have been listening to some music I picked up using Morpheus from the old days before I ran spybot removers

Thanks loads for the suggestion,0 <<anyone know where this '0' is coming from?>>
0<<here is another one!>>
0

Member Avatar
goowhite
Newbie Poster
1 post since Apr 2009
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 1 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I had the same damn problem. Thanks to you a lot, you saved me a lot of pain. Wondering how windows could behave like this.

Question Answered as of 4 Years Ago by GrimJack, nizzy1115 and goowhite
Member Avatar
dereks812
Newbie Poster
4 posts since Jul 2009
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Ok unfortunately the disk management did not solve my issue.. I have a 40gb maxtor drive that is running xp pro.. the slave drive is a 120gb maxtor that i have used as storage for movies but never as a boot drive.. its shows fine in cmos and the device manager but i cannot access it with dos commands and it doesnt show in my computer nor does it show in the disk management.. i was excited when i saw that answer but it didnt help me.. any suggestions?

Member Avatar
Mike25kerr
Newbie Poster
2 posts since Oct 2009
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hi,

I have a semilar problem. I can see the drive on Disk Management but not on Mycomputer. On Disk management the drive States "UNALLOCATED". I've tried everything possible but to no avail. I actually have some 120 GB of data in it and a little scepticle to do anykind of formating. I don't wanna or can't lose any data from the drive.

Can someone suggest anything or help.
my email address: mike25kerr@gmail.com

Member Avatar
GrimJack
Posting Maven
2,928 posts since Feb 2004
Reputation Points: 1,395 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 78 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
Featured
 
0
 

I think you should start a new thread - the only people who can see this one are the people who have already posted to it - copy what you want and start a new one to get a wider audience.

If all else fails, you could try getting a USB adapter kit and trying to access the data through the USB drivers.

Member Avatar
ladyshelly
Newbie Poster
1 post since Nov 2009
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

thank you so much. worked like a charm

Well I have managed to fix my problem. I attempted to download the Maxtor utility drivers from their website and use them but to no avail.
To solve it I had to right-click 'My Computer' and select Manage, when in there I had to click on 'Disk Management' and then right cick the drive to enable it and then format it from there - hey presto a second drive working.

I hope this can help someone else with the same problem.

Member Avatar
David1988
Newbie Poster
1 post since Feb 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hi all, new to the forum here thought that i'd just let everyone know

if your having problems with a drive which has previously been formatted and works fine in other operating systems, but does not appear in windows 7 / my computer.

then you can fix this by right clicking my computer

then manage and disk management

right click your drive and select change drive letter and paths

press add and asign the following drive letter then Ok.

This worked wonders for getting my 80gb Maxtor to appear in my computer.

Note: this solution only gets previously formatted drives to be viewable, such as those used with other operating systems before.

Hope this helps some of you

David

Member Avatar
Murara
Newbie Poster
2 posts since Mar 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I have a similar prob, I had a 40gb hdd installed which had 2 partitions C and D where D was 30GB and C almost full then I installed Partion Margic 8 to increase the size of C after installation I restarted as it's usual procedures but after restarting the Drive was lost with a msg there is no disk installed then I fixed a master drive and changed the former drive to slave in order to read the data that it contain but even I can't access it in Device manager.

What can I do to get this fixed? or atleast get the information back.

Thank you

Member Avatar
Murara
Newbie Poster
2 posts since Mar 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Please all,

Who can help me?

Member Avatar
GrimJack
Posting Maven
2,928 posts since Feb 2004
Reputation Points: 1,395 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 78 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
Featured
 
0
 

You need to start your own thread; this one is marked 'solved'.

Member Avatar
Puni77
Newbie Poster
1 post since Jun 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hi the same problem with me. I thought of doing what you told but mine says to initializes but if I do that, will I lose my hard drive contents?? Let me asap please

Member Avatar
amarender
Newbie Poster
1 post since Jul 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

: I can see my second hard drive in Device manager but not in 'My Computer'

pls help me

Member Avatar
LesBaker
Newbie Poster
1 post since Jul 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Wow, 4 years later and it saved my bu.. Such a simple solution and so hard to find. I did have to change drive letters, it seems like XP assigned the same drive letters to both external drives. I changed the drive letter in disk managment and my second drive started working!!

Well I have managed to fix my problem. I attempted to download the Maxtor utility drivers from their website and use them but to no avail.
To solve it I had to right-click 'My Computer' and select Manage, when in there I had to click on 'Disk Management' and then right cick the drive to enable it and then format it from there - hey presto a second drive working.

I hope this can help someone else with the same problem.

Member Avatar
yuanshunzhen
Newbie Poster
3 posts since Jul 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I thought you should see the second drive,. I bought a <a href="http://www.laptopbatteriesinc.com.au/laptop-battery/compaq/compaq-presario-1200-battery">Compaq Presario 1200</a> ,have meet the same problem

Member Avatar
emran999
Newbie Poster
3 posts since Nov 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hard disk shows up in Device Manager but not in My Computer and in bios
hard disk is detected properly.But in windows XP SP2 partition didn't showing.

Member Avatar
emran999
Newbie Poster
3 posts since Nov 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

and in my hard drive i have very very important data.if any body can help
me so please make a message or a call to me n just inform me

You
This question has already been solved: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
Tags Related to this Article