Ok, A buddy of mine recently asked me o fix his pc that some idiot custom built for him. I have worked on hundreds of computers starting when I was only 9 years old. Never found a computer that I couldn't fix. I have my A+, MCP and I'm also a college student for network administration.

The way the computer was running I deemed it a hardware issue and told him that he would need to replace his motherboard to fix the problem. It seemed that the processer wasn't pulling information from the ram the right way seeing as fedora core 6 was running INCREDIBLY slow with many errors.

He told me to dissasemble the PC and save whatever hardware was good. While I was dissaembling it I noticed that the douche bag who built the computer didn't set the processor in the socket all the way and there were some pins that were not in. So i reset the processor in the socket and figured that was the problem. While I was disssembling the computer I had taken the CMOS battery out. I put eveyrthing back in including the Battery and when I started the coputer it got an error that said syste, date not set or bad checksum. Plus the computer is not taking any input from the ps/2 keyboard, although the lights on the keyboard to light up when the computer starts. I cleared the CMOS by moving the jumper on the motherboard to position 1-2 and then put it back to position 2-3. Now whenever I start the computer it freezes at the post for a few minutes then goes to a message that says "default BIOS setting used" or something to that effect. I cann't use f1 to enter the BIOS or anything.

Any ideas?

the pc specs are as follows:

p4 2.6ghz with HT
2 GB DDR 2700.
250GB HDD.
DVD Burner.

The board was a pull from a HP PC and it has Intel Chipset.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

If checksum fails, the BIOS reverts to using its built-in default settings.

A system crash or electrical spike can corrupt the BIOS file. Is the MB seated correctly?

Also, you might want to check your MB battery.