Hi,
I need help!!!
My old Dell Latitude cpX tries to start up but shuts itself down after 4 seconds. Sometimes it tries to start again on it own!! :evil:
Any ideas? :idea:
I've tried booting up docked, undocked, battery in / out, DVD drive in/out, floppy drive in/out.
I did think it was a dodgy screen switch (no idea where I would find it) or power switch but I'm not sure what I can do (complete novice for PC hardware tinkering! :!: )
Any ideas much appreciated

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

The machine will now start to boot when docked but just hangs indefinately!! The only way to power it down is to undock and remove the battery!!

I'm still lost!!

Any ideas??

Someone must know something.

The machine will now hang either docked or undocked but won't boot from a windows boot disk or floppy!!

Help Please!!!!

u may need a new battery or power supply.

Could be a bad power supply or it sould like you system is over heating bad fan maybe take the keyboard off, removed the bottom screws keyboard sure be loose left up carefully without removing the ribbion cable turn on computer see if fan is spinning if not replaced and check to make sure heatsink is on tight.

The lost one!!!
Is your problem solved ? Please provide feedback or comments if people give advice then we know where we stand ?

I've worked with these for a while and I believe it involves a loose solder joint in the memory holders. If I warp the motherboard slightly, it boots. With it just sitting flat, it doesn't. I have to apply pressure in the middle of the board. If I warp the board and start it, and then remove the pressure, it then hangs.

I've searched many times for a resolution to this. Other then pulling off the black memory labels and reflowing solder, I can't think of any other solution. Basically it means buy a new motherboard. They aren't too expensive on ebay.