1,105,578 Community Members

Can't Access BIOS (Sony Vaio)

Member Avatar
BleepyE
Junior Poster in Training
96 posts since Dec 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hey guys,

I cant access the BIOS for my friends Sony Vaio VGN-NR38M. Im trying to boot from CD to install Windows 7.

On turn on there is a Vaio logo and then a black screen with a blinking underscore and then then Windows Vista loads.

No BIOS key is displayed and ive spent a fair while trying all the function keys including Esc, Del, Ctrl + Esc & Ctrl + Del. Esc reboots the computer and most of the other Funtion keys ask me what OS I want to boot and Vista is the only one ebing displayed

On that screen is also says press F8 for advanced options but then it just asks me I want to start in safemode and other thing unreleated to selecting the boot device or the BIOS.

Please can someone help me out.

Thanks

Member Avatar
zelkea
Posting Whiz
325 posts since Jul 2006
Reputation Points: 5 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 35 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Going off this site http://pcsupport.about.com/od/fixtheproblem/a/biosaccess_pc.htm it looks like it is F1, F2, or F3. I would suggesting repeatedly pressing F1 from the moment you press the power button until you get the blinking underscore. If that doesn't work move on to F2, rinse, wash and repeat. Let me know if none of them work and I will dig a little deeper.

BTW I have notice that most splash screens cover the message stating which button to press. In the past I have been able to identify the button needed by quickly pressing esc to get rid of the splash screen. This does not always work my success ratio is about 75% of the time.

zelkea

Member Avatar
tje210
Junior Poster
109 posts since Jan 2010
Reputation Points: 10 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 19 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

right on, zelkea. i'll just add that, once you access the bios, turn off the splash screen and turn off 'quick boot'. that first will do the obvious, while the second will run a full POST *and* give you more time to access the BIOS if you want to.

Member Avatar
BleepyE
Junior Poster in Training
96 posts since Dec 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Ok I found that just pressing Esc at the splash screen shows a small boot menu.

It has 3 items. 1. CD Drive, 6. HDD and Enter Setup

Upon pressing enter on the first it just boots the PC as normal.

So I entered setup which appears to be BIOS. But even when I choose the CD drive as the first boot option from the list, save the chances and reboot, it still boots like theres no disc in the drive.

Member Avatar
tje210
Junior Poster
109 posts since Jan 2010
Reputation Points: 10 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 19 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

what version of the BIOS is it running? does the CD drive work in windows? are you able to boot to other discs?

Member Avatar
zelkea
Posting Whiz
325 posts since Jul 2006
Reputation Points: 5 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 35 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Nice tip tje210, an extra couple of seconds can always help.

BleepyE,
Sorry for the delay was on vacation for a couple days. It sounds like the problem might be with the Windows disk if it just skips over it and boots normally. As a test can you boot to the disk on another system?

Also Windows 7 comes on a DVD not a CD, I tried to pull up the specs to verify that the laptop in question has a dvd player but I was unsuccessful with the model number you provided. After you verify it does have a dvd can you double check the model for me, I was only able to find vgn-nr380 and nr385, and none of them had a M on Sony's site.

Member Avatar
BleepyE
Junior Poster in Training
96 posts since Dec 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Yer sorry its a DVD and the Laptop has a DVD reader built in.

It seems to be the same as this one.
http://genesis.sony-europe.com/instranet/ccil_sony/selfservice/index.jsp?m=VGN-NR38M_S&l=en_GB

Just the model number of that has an added S, VGN-NR38M/S

Question Answered as of 3 Years Ago by zelkea and tje210
Member Avatar
mah300274
Junior Poster
146 posts since Feb 2011
Reputation Points: 5 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 2 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Try to reburn a windows disk, maybe yours is a bad copy, or you have a scratch on the part of the disk that tells the computer to reboot. A ton of restore disks are faulty.

Member Avatar
BleepyE
Junior Poster in Training
96 posts since Dec 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Its fine, it was just the BIOS skipping booting from the disk even after setting it to boot from the disk first.

Strange but after diabling boot from hardrive completely it worked :)

Member Avatar
mah300274
Junior Poster
146 posts since Feb 2011
Reputation Points: 5 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 2 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

That can make sense. Some computers are just strange, I usally set HDD to the last setting too or disable stuff like you said.

Member Avatar
mister_s
Newbie Poster
1 post since May 2011
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Thank you!!! This was driving me crazy. I had the same problem installing windows 7 on a sony vaio laptop and this worked. One other weird thing is that Linux Ubuntu installed just fine.

Member Avatar
akira arun
Newbie Poster
1 post since Jan 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

im using sony e serious model pcg-7q811w im having (BOOTMGR ctrl+alt+del)problem .i try to install new operating system but boot process was not working i shows that cammend again so please help me

pintonyc
Newbie Poster
1 post since Sep 2013
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
Unverified Member
 
0
 

I came across this discussion looking for help for the same symptom, then I decided to remove the HDD, battery and memory, booted with the dvd until it couldn't find the HD, backed out, put everything back and booted with the dvd and now it is installing.

Member Avatar
akram.anjum.5
Newbie Poster
1 post since Nov 2013
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hello there, to get into bios on your Sony Vaio SVE1513Q1EB. You need to hold down the Assist key and then turn on your laptop, after few min it will take you to the Vaio Assist menu and then you can easily choose the Bios optoin by pressing the F2 button. In bios you need to nav to the boot menu and then change boot option UEFI to Legacy and then change the first boot deive to cd rom and then you good to go.

You
This question has already been solved: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
View similar articles that have also been tagged: