Hi guys,

I need to build an ecommerce site for a client and I have the general design figured out but I can't find a solution that works for me. I need to be able to adapt the html/css to my design as well as have a search engine, that I can customize the look of the results.

I have looked at several solutions but they either have a limited trial period or are too complicated for me to get them off of the ground. I am new to ecommerce and was hoping someone had some advice for a solution where I don't have to adapt my design to fit into a template.

I know plenty of people have asked this question because I have been searching for an answer for weeks. I thought maybe I can get a better result if I asked the question directly.

I like the idea of a hosted situation because there isn't a lot of setup but I'm finding that those aren't very customizable. Any help will be much appreciated because I'm tearing my hair out over this. Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

I have looked at several solutions

It would be helpful to list these, so it's obvious what you don't want. What is your client selling?

By any chance are you looking into having 100% control over the site (basic website...) or a CMS (wordpress, joomla, drupal)...

As pritaeas has said before, can you tell us on what you want and don't want and what your client is selling?

I know plenty of people have asked this question because I have been searching for an answer for weeks

How much time has your client given you? If your short on time, I personally think it's easiest to go with Wordpress or drupal.

Not sure if you've found something, but Drupal has a great solution for eCommerce.

Zeuscart is the best free GPL Shopping cart software to create your store. Download it freely.

Hi there!
On Friday, I'll be launching the worlds first hosted WordPress e-commerce solution, only £25 per month.