Member Avatar
Vincentas
Junior Poster in Training
62 posts since Nov 2012
Reputation Points: 6 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 5 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]

Hi guys,

I need to build an ecommerce site for a client and I have the general design figured out but I can't find a solution that works for me. I need to be able to adapt the html/css to my design as well as have a search engine, that I can customize the look of the results.

I have looked at several solutions but they either have a limited trial period or are too complicated for me to get them off of the ground. I am new to ecommerce and was hoping someone had some advice for a solution where I don't have to adapt my design to fit into a template.

I know plenty of people have asked this question because I have been searching for an answer for weeks. I thought maybe I can get a better result if I asked the question directly.

I like the idea of a hosted situation because there isn't a lot of setup but I'm finding that those aren't very customizable. Any help will be much appreciated because I'm tearing my hair out over this. Thanks in advance.

Member Avatar
pritaeas
mod_pritaeas
11,285 posts since Jul 2006
Reputation Points: 1,420 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 1,831 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 154 [?]
Featured
Sponsor

I have looked at several solutions

It would be helpful to list these, so it's obvious what you don't want. What is your client selling?

Member Avatar
<M/>
Industrious Poster
4,473 posts since Apr 2012
Reputation Points: 106 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 139 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 114 [?]
Featured

By any chance are you looking into having 100% control over the site (basic website...) or a CMS (wordpress, joomla, drupal)...

As pritaeas has said before, can you tell us on what you want and don't want and what your client is selling?

I know plenty of people have asked this question because I have been searching for an answer for weeks