I have a highly visible Subscribe Form and several other links to my Newsletter Subscribe form on my website, but people always prefer to 'subscribe' using the 'wp_???' (I forget the HTML code they use) subscribe method which adds them to my site's Users list, but not my Subscribe Form List.

So I add them manually to my Subscribe Form List of Subscribers (Mailchimp) and send out emails, but no one ever opens them. Maybe one out of my 70 subscribers who have 'subscribed' this way.

Question 1: Why do people prefer to become Users, not Subscribers? What is 'in it' for them?

Question 2: Why don't they open my Newsletter emails, when they went to the trouble of becoming Users?

By the way: I know I don't have a freebie give-away to get more Subscribers via my form yet, but I'd like to know why these people even bother to become Users if they arene't interested in opening my emails.

Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Well for question 1.... users and subscribers can be the same, but that'll vary on what they are recieving... are subscribers recieving special notifications and are users getting more capabilities to use your site....

Question 2 has a interesting answer... It'll vary on why the registered as users... really that is just up to do people uses your site (maybe they liked something that was featured for users and maybe your site features the same features for users and subscribers). Another solution on why they don't open your emails is that they could've placed your emails in spam or they are bots (mostly likely not bots)...

I hope this information helped!
If you have more questions... ask away!

As far as I know, there are no advertised (or other) benefits to being a User on my site. My settings are

• Anyone can register, and
  • New User Default Role is Subscribers

so no extra privileges that I know of. And they only get my Newsletter because I go to the trouble of adding them manually to my Newsletter List.