Hi there,

I am new to all this optimization thing.
Yahoo and a few other search engines are finally showing my site and this is good. Google, however, won't do it.

So, I read a few tutorials and a bunch of messages and I realize that there are a few potential problems that I might have:
- My site is dynamic and it is using sessions. I could remove the sessions for now because it's not that important. Will that improve anything?
- Site is all written in PHP. Is this a problem for search engines. Do they just like html files or is PHP ok too? My site is a local forum so basically all of it is PHP.

Also, can someone suggest me a way to get backlinks. I hear this all the time and I'm not sure if I understand it correctly. I know I can get a few ie. partners to link to my site. But is there any other way of getting backlinks. Can you give me an example of how this is done?
What I'm thinking is that these links that are linking to my site might make my site rank higher. However, a funny thing happens often; usually the search keywords I'm using for my site will bring up the sites that are backlinking to me. hmm, thats no good?

Any feedback for an amateur?

Thanks so much

tim

Recommended Answers

All 20 Replies

Hello SEO Newbie:

Step 1: I recommend adding your site's URL to your signature here on DaniWeb, so we can diagnose the problem you address. You will also get a free backlink that is crawlable, and will increase your link popularity!

Next: Google, Yahoo, MSN, and Ask can read and index your PHP files. Kudos for programming in PHP!

Yahoo and the 2nd/3rd tier engines usually will include your site in their index before Google, so don't worry :) - it often takes time for inclusion into Google. It can take months in many cases.

Surely your site has static pages as well. Are they indexed yet?