1,105,221 Community Members

How much software knowledge req

Member Avatar
toopie
Newbie Poster
9 posts since Feb 2005
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hello,

I am going to build a forum, possibly with vBulletin - how much software knowledge is required?

Can a newbie do this?

Great forum, by the way.

Thanks.

Member Avatar
Cup of Squirrel
Junior Poster
131 posts since Oct 2004
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 1 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

This depends on how you are going to use vbulletin:

1. The easy way

Get a free host so it is all setup for you. Here you just sign up and your forum is running in 5 minutes, Settings can be easily changed in the admin panel. However, getting a free host means having to get a name like http://yourforumname.hostname.com or something, and usually with an advert, but most hosts have a paid option that removes these ads

2. The tricky way

Buying webspace with a mySQL server, extracting all the files to a certain folder, setting up config.php....euk, I couldnt work it out, and seeing as your a newbie, you probably wont either.

For now, just pay for a remote host like I suggested in the first option :)

Member Avatar
Scribbller
Posting Whiz in Training
214 posts since Apr 2004
Reputation Points: 13 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 3 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 15 [?]
 
0
 

When I first made a forum back in 2001 for the first time I had absolutely no knowledge of forum softwares I had some vague knowledge of ftp and thats all. The thing is when you start working on your site you will automatically fimiliarise your self with the board software. You do not necessirily need to know php as well things will automatically start to make sense if you are willing to experiment and learn.

Member Avatar
toopie
Newbie Poster
9 posts since Feb 2005
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Thanks, all.

And you're right. You can learn as you go.

Off I go to start a forum...

Member Avatar
Dani
The Queen of DaniWeb
20,553 posts since Feb 2002
Reputation Points: 1,356 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 927 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 204 [?]
Administrator
Featured
Sponsor
 
0
 

And if you run into snags on the way, we're here to help. :) I don't think it is too hard to set up a default out of the box vBulletin installation. The trick is then in driving traffic, customizing it, and offering something unique!

Member Avatar
JTroopSoldier
Light Poster
25 posts since Mar 2005
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 1 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I would say Yes. After you get it installed, the hard part is behind you and the creative part begans.

You
This article has been dead for over three months: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
Tags Related to this Article