Hey guys, I'm new to social media marketing. I was wondering which one is better: should I create an account about my company (use company name, logo, profile etc. ) in social networking sites? or should I create an account about myself (my pictures, my profile etc.) and promote the company I'm marketing as a representative?

Recommended Answers

All 26 Replies

We have both company and personal accounts. Building a social network from scratch is a real tough one. Observe how others, including your competition, are participating on the social media platform you chose.

I second MacKone. I have built a few social networks and it can be time consuming and the most important issue is that you constantly have to promote it becasue remember, 80% of posts come from less than 20% of members.

Not much better :)

Time consuming indeed. How many hours a day do you guys usually allocate for SMM? Let's say you guys have your own personal Facebook accounts. Would you use that account for SMM? or would you create a different one strictly for business?

I think the first thing a business should do when using social media is establish - across the platforms - a strong, clear and consistent brand image. After this, it really is a case of putting in the time to engage with your chosen communities. This will, ultimately, build trust and drive people to the business.

Isobel, agency:2

Yea, I suggest you do both and inter-link accounts and cross promote.

Or also keep the same handle with all the other profiles so you can solidifying one identity.

Darryl, do tell us how it works out for you?

Ok, I will. I'll go for the "two accounts" approach, and see how it goes. It'll take time though.