I am determined to learn assembly. However, I have stumbled upon a little confusion regarding boolean algebra. It seems that the author of the very fine documentation I have been studying hasn't explained a whole lot on boolean algebra symbols.

I am learning HLA, and I am studying it from their own documentation.

http://webster.cs.ucr.edu/AoA/DOS/ch02/CH02-1.html

The above link takes you to the website I have questions about. I think it is much more efficient and server-friendly if I link to it, instead.

The symbols near the top of the article's page I am referring to are '%' and the ones around it.

2) If you need to know why I am studying assembly, it is because I am determined to develop my own operating system, if only for my own personal use, since I am fed up with Windows.

I am not trying to get rich and stuff like that; this is simply purely education-oriented and is meant as a challenge, and fun. I'm not trying to make a kick ass OS to get rich.

I mean yeah, if it's good enough and I spend enough time on it and it turns out good enough, I might think about other things, but I am not looking that far ahead.

SO....my second question is...while that link I provided is for the DOS version of High Level Assembler that I am studying, (and this is directed toward those who are actually experienced in assembly, not someone who just messed with it) I am wondering if a different version of the HLA would be more efficient, or easier to use.

The only reason I chose the DOS version, and not the Windows or Linux versions, is because I thought the DOS version got down to a lower level, however this is simply my speculation.

The machine I am planning on testing this on is an x86 machine.

3) Is there any advice that individuals, wiser than myself, could provide me regarding creating an OS, or vital or important things I need to know?