So when I take an argument off the stack it seems that is in the form of a string, is there a way i can convert it to a integer so i can "cmp" it with another argument which i also wish to convert to an int? I am a newbie to ASM but i do realize this isn't going to be as easy as it is in higher level languages. Any help?

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

So when I take an argument off the stack it seems that is in the form of a string, is there a way i can convert it to a integer so i can "cmp" it with another argument which i also wish to convert to an int? I am a newbie to ASM but i do realize this isn't going to be as easy as it is in higher level languages. Any help?

Could we see the code please...As for values(strings) on the stack well I guess that depends on what was pushed onto the stack...

I'm extremely new to assembly, and I don't even know if this is the source of my problem could you tell be why it always says argument 2 is larger even though its not. And please Don't criticize my code, I'm new and I'm really not in the mood to deal with it.

section .data
	one: db 'arg1 is larger'
	ol:  equ $-one
	two: db 'arg2 is larger'
	tl:  equ $-two
	three: db 'args are equal'
	thl:  equ $-three
section .text
	global _one ;if arg1 is larger
	global _two ;if arg2 is larger
	global _three ;if they're equal
	global _start ;main function

_start:
	pop ebx
	pop ebx
	pop eax
	pop ebx
	cmp eax,ebx
	jg _one
	cmp ebx,eax
	jg _two
	mov eax,1
	mov eax,0
_one:
	mov eax,4
	mov ebx,1
	mov ecx,one
	mov edx,ol
	int 80h
	mov eax,1
	mov ebx,0
	int 80h
_two:
	mov eax,4
	mov ebx,1
	mov ecx,two
	mov edx,tl
	int 80h
	mov eax,1
	mov ebx,0
	int 80h
_three:
	mov eax,4
	mov ebx,1
	mov ecx,three
	mov edx,thl
	int 80h
	mov eax,1
	mov ebx,0
	int 80h

Right away I have to ask, are you popping the program's arguments off the stack? If you are then the values are pointers to strings and not the the strings themselves