I have written a bootloader in ASM (I can post code if you like) and I plan to write a kernel in C /c++ because I don't want to have to deal with a Kernel written ENTIRELY in ASM. Is there any way (Got to keep this under or at 512 bytes) to allow the bootloader, written in ASM, to pass control (like call a method or something) to the C kernel?

I'm a newbie to this kind of thing, and I thought I would ask the pros.
Please be nice, this is my first post! :icon_cheesygrin:

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

bump!
I'm sure some one out there knows the answer!!!

I WISH it was so simple as to call a function and give control to another program. *sigh* I suppose you'll just have to execute the loader for the c kernel, or if the kernel is one file, then call the file and exit or return your bootloader.

I WISH it was so simple as to call a function and give control to another program. *sigh* I suppose you'll just have to execute the loader for the c kernel, or if the kernel is one file, then call the file and exit or return your bootloader.

Thanks so much for the reply! Yeah, I really wish it was too...
do you know if you could provide code of sorts that could do as you described? I mean, I'm not sure if I could write some ASM code to do that, because I am kind of a noob.

heres a basic way

**call kernel**

put this into your bootload.asm

**void kernel(void) 
{
 /* code */
}**

this would be kernel.c
hope this helps

I would strongly recommend not responding to threads that have been dead for over two years, especially when the answer you're giving is unquestionably incorrect.