Hey, i am learning from Programming from the ground up. I am having a bit of trouble with the pushl and popl commands. I'm a newbie with ASM and really just starting out on it, i am on a x86-64 im presuming it will run the x86 32bit code. I ran other example code which didn't use push or pop, and it ran fine; it only really moved values around in the registers.

The error im getting on ALL my push and pop commands:

Error: suffix or operands invalid for `push'
Error: suffix or operands invalid for `pop'

Here is the source code which im using, i've tested it on other people's snippets as well but with the same result. So i don't think its the source code.

#PURPOSE:  Program to illustrate how functions work
#          This program will compute the value of
#          2^3 + 5^2
#
#Everything in the main program is stored in registers,
#so the data section doesn’t have anything.

.section .data

.section .text

.globl _start
_start:
	pushl $3
	pushl $2
	call power
	addl $8,%esp

pushl %eax

pushl $2
	pushl $5

call power
	addl $8,%esp
	popl %ebx

addl %eax, %ebx
	movl $1, %eax
	int $0x80

#PURPOSE: This function is used to compute
#           the value of a number raised to
#           a power.
#
#INPUT:     First argument - the base number
#           Second argument - the power to
#                             raise it to
#
#OUTPUT:    Will give the result as a return value
#
#NOTES:     The power must be 1 or greater
#
#VARIABLES:
#           %ebx - holds the base number
#           %ecx - holds the power
#
#           -4(%ebp) - holds the current result
#
#           %eax is used for temporary storage
#

.type power, @function
power:
	pushl %ebp
	movl %esp,ebp
	subl $4,%esp

movl 8(%ebp), %ebx 
	movl 12(%ebp),%ecx 
	movl %ebx, -4(%ebp)

power_loop_start:
	cmpl $1,ecx
	je end_power
	movl -4(%ebp),%eax
	imull %ebx,%eax

movl %eax,-4(%ebp)

decl %ecx
	jmp power_loop_start

end_power:
	movl -4(%ebp),%eax
	movl %ebp,%esp
	popl %ebp
	ret

Recommended Answers