hey everyone, im in my first semester of assembly, i had a quick quesiton, im working with the coproccessor now for the first time and i would like to know if The coprocessor stack holds all values as 80-bit reals then what is the largest integer data type that can be returned from the coprocessor to a memory variable and what is the largest real number data type that can be returned from the coprocessor to a memory variable? im working in visual studios and im stuck at the moment

thanks a ton

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

fld     [z]
z       dt ? ;10 bytes variable

@stompjkrz400 - This is not as simple a question as you might at first think, at least not if you approach it without having first mastered the ieee storage format used by the co-processor. I do think that it is safe to assume that all numbers are handled as 80-bit reals internal to the coprocessor. The other formats are simply for memory storage convenience, nothing else. Now, I'm not going to answer your question outright, but I will tell you how to find out and perhaps give a hint or 2.