Hi people can someone explain this code to me clearly, this is the simplest code I could possibly get I just want to ask how it works hope you can help me. By the way this code asks for an uppercase letter and will convert it to its lowercase equivalent. Can someone translate to me what exactly each lines of code does?? Well some lines already have comments but still I cannot relate it to the other lines without comments so it's quite confusing...please please.. I am new to assembly programming please help me, thank you!

code segment
    assume cs:code, ds:code
    org 100h
start:
    mov ah,09h  ;display string
    mov dx, offset msg1
    int 21h

mov ah,01h  ;ask user
    int 21h
    add al,20h  ;converts uppercase to lowercase
    mov bl,al

mov ah,02
    mov dl,0ah
    int 21h

mov ah,02
    mov dl,0dh
    int 21h

mov ah,09h  ;display string
    mov dx, offset msg2
    int 21h

mov dl,bl
;   mov dl,al   ;lowercase equivalent
    mov ah,02   ;display the value of dl
    int 21h
    int 20h

msg1:db 'enter uppercase letter: $'
    msg2:db 'lowercase equivalent: $'
code ends
end start

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Let's start with int 21h, because it seems like magic if you're not familiar with the multipurpose functionality. It behaves differently depending on the value of the AX register.

mov is just shuffling data around, I'm not sure I need to explain it unless you have a specific question.

Line 11 is where the real work of the conversion is done:

It's brittle in that the program doesn't check to make sure the character has a lower case equivalent before doing the conversion, but in the ASCII character set upper and lower case letter blocks are 32 characters apart, so if you add 32 (which is 20h in hexadecimal) to an upper case character you'll get the corresponding lower case character, and if you subtract 32 from that, you'll get the original upper case character.