Hi there
I am really new in C programming (about 3 weeks). Before I begin my question I have to excuse because of my bad English.
My question is on reading a file that contains double and integer type numbers.
For reading file I use fgets() that read a line and save it to an array ( I define the string array as: char [100][150]).
But know how I can access to my values in array. In array I have each line of my data as string.
My other codes are based on it.
I have to say that, my file is exported from excel as text file and all data separated by space.

Yours help truly appreciated,
Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 31 Replies

>>But know how I can access to my values in array
Is that the question -- how to extract each of the numbers in the string ? extract them using sscanf(). There is a simple example

int main()
{
    char line[] = "123 234.56 789";
    int a, b;
    float c;
    sscanf(line,"%d %f %d", &a, &c, &b);
    printf("%d %f %d", a, c, b);
}

question:

does each line of your data always have the same number of INTs and FLOATs, and are they always found in the same order?

if so, Dragon's suggestion for "sscanf()" is perfect. if not, you will need a more complex routine, perhaps using "strtok()"

Hi
Thanks for your attention.
All I have done is this code that made error. And numbers don’t save in new array. Only my and zeros print on console.
Also in my file I know only the row of integer value.

#include <stdio.h>

int main(void)
{

char input[150][350];
   char line[350];
   int i,j=0;
   double num[1000];  /*But i don't Know the exact num*/
   FILE *get_input;
   get_input=fopen("input.inp","r");

if (get_input!=NULL)
   {
       while (fgets(line,sizeof line,get_input)!=NULL)
       {
             strcpy(input[i],line);
             printf("My Inputs%s\n",input[i]);
             i++;
       }
   }
   else
   {
       perror("File cannot be found");
   }
   i=0;
   while (line[i]!=EOF)
   {
         sscanf(input[i],"%f",&num[i]);