Hi!

I am new to C programming, so this question might sound foolish. I have a problem with output of a program (sometimes the output is wrong)

Following is the program: (I am using Turbo C compiler)

/* Calculate simple interest */

#include <stdio.h>
main()
{
int p, n;
float r, si;
printf("Enter values of p, n, and r");
scanf("%d, %d, %f", &d, &d, &f);
si=p*n*r/100;
printf("Simple interest=%f", si);
getchar();
return 0;
}

There is no error in this program. Output is also right but only for small integers.

e.g. If I enter p=1000, n=5, r=10, answer is RIGHT.

BUT for p=10000, n=5, r=10, answer is wrong (in minus value and totally wrong)

I think this is because of integer value limitations.

If yes, what is the solution to it so that I can use a bigger number.

If no, what is the reason for the error?

Please help me.

Thank you very much.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Hi!

I am new to C programming, so this question might sound foolish. I have a problem with output of a program (sometimes the output is wrong)

Following is the program: (I am using Turbo C compiler)

/* Calculate simple interest */

#include <stdio.h>
main()
{
int p, n;
float r, si;
scanf("%d, %d, %f", &d, &d, &f); //should be &p, &n, &r
si=p*n*r/100;
getchar();
return 0;
}

There is no error in this program. Output is also right but only for small integers.

e.g. If I enter p=1000, n=5, r=10, answer is RIGHT.

BUT for p=10000, n=5, r=10, answer is wrong (in minus value and totally wrong)

I think this is because of integer value limitations.

If yes, what is the solution to it so that I can use a bigger number.

If no, what is the reason for the error?

Please help me.

Thank you very much.

Yes, you've exceeded the limit for integers. Use unsigned longs, instead of integers.

That will solve your problem until you need *much* bigger numbers. :)

Hi!
#include <stdio.h>
main()
{
int p, n;
float r, si;
scanf("%d, %d, %f", &d, &d, &f);
si=p*n*r/100;
getchar();
return 0;
}