Im a beginner level programmer in C and want to know how can I use malloc or calloc functions for dynamic memory allocation without typecasting...?

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

No casting or typecasting is needed for malloc(). It returns a void pointer which the program will automatically change to the right type, for you. Very rarely, you'll need to do a cast of the pointer, manually.

You need to include stdlib.h for malloc to work.

If you need more help, catch some of the excellent tutorials on line from Google, or post up your code, so we can see WTF you're trying to do, and give specific advice.

Advice like this is never great, because it can't be nearly as thorough as a tutorial dedicated to the subject, and it can't be very specific, because there is no code.

Syntax of MALLOC
ptr=(cast-type*)malloc(byte-size)
ptr is pointer of type cast-type.the malloc return a pointer of (cast-type) to an area of memory with size byte-size
Example :
int *x;
x=(int*)malloc(5 * sizeof(int));
On successful execution it return a pointer of of type int after reserving the space equvalent to five times of size int

#include<conio.h>
#include<stdio.h>
#include<stdlib.h>
main()
{
int *p;
int num,i;
clrscr();
printf("\Enter number of element :");
scanf("%d",&num);
p=(int*)malloc(num * sizeof(int));
for(i=0;i<num;i++)
scanf("%d",p++);
printf("Element of memory:\n");
p-=num;
for(i=0;i<num;i++)
printf("\n%d",*p++);
getch();
}

I used malloc without typecasting and the program worked perfectly well ....yet i find certain code snippets in some books (such as the one in the previous post) that make it a practice to typecast it to a specific datatype ....why is it so?

Well, casting is not the same thing as typecasting. Typecasting just creates an "alias" (another name), your program can use, for a certain datatype (typically a struct name).