Hello everybody,
I was asked by an interviewer the following question. but I was not able to answer. Please get back to me if you know the answer. thank you in advance.

Que: What is the exact difference between the "for" loop and "while" loop in C language ?

Recommended Answers

All 25 Replies

Any first year C programming student should be able to answer that question. If you could not then you are not yet ready to work as a professional programmer.

commented: That's for sure. +17
commented: Intelligent and 100% correct. I am new to programming and I know the difference between While and For so... +0

That was a question for a job interview? If you couldn't answer it, I'm inclined to say that you're a perfect candidate. :icon_rolleyes:

Anyway, the expected answer is probably that the for loop is counted and the while loop is not. Though that's only a superficial difference because you can simulate the behavior of either loop with the other.

You're all off the mark. The answer is "Whatever you want the difference to be." ;)

Seriously, take some courses (or better yet, get a degree). For and while loops are used in so many common languages. You are not ready for any kind of software development career.

For me the only significant difference except for superficialities (put first statement of for as first inside while and third at end of while and keep the middle one) is that for parameters are optional, while parameter is not, so for( ; ; ) is correct infinite loop but while() is not.

I too am looking for a job:">. Is this the idea? (I don't know assembly too well)

For loop:

for (int x=0;(x*2)<100;x++)  {}

mov   eax,   0  
@head:

;;loop body

inc  eax
   imul 2
   cmp  eax,   100
   ja   @end  
   jmp  @head     
@end:

While loop:

int x=5;
while (x)  {
   x--;
   //loop
 }

@head:
   mov   ecx,   5  ;;number of loops

;;loop body

loop  @head     ;;jumps at the beginning of the loop if ecx!=0

1. To : Ancient Dragon,Adak,namillet,WaltP