I am very new to C and I am hoping for some pointers. I am attempting to take an input of 7 integers of an array and search through them to see if any number appears only once. Here is what I have so far

#include stdio.h
#define ARRSIZE 7
int main(void)
{
int intarr[ARRSIZE], i, target;
printf("Please input %d integers :", ARRSIZE);
scanf("%d", &target);
for(i = 0; i<ARRSIZE; i++)
{
    scanf("%d", &intarr[i]);
}
{
if(i < intarr[i])

Here is where I become lost. I get how to search for it. If number x appears in the array, dont count, if it appears only once, count. I am just having problems putting it into code. Anyways any help would be appreciated.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Your best bet is to sort the array (qsort() is good). Then it is easy to find duplicates since they will have to be adjacent to each other. IE (after sorting):

int lastfound = INT_MAX;
for (int i = 0; i < arraysize; i++)
{
    if (array[i] != lastfound)
    {
        lastfound = i;
    }
    else
    {
        /* We have a duplicate */
    }
}

How you deal with the duplicates is up to you. For whatever it's worth, setting lastfound to INT_MAX before the loop is just a "guard" value. It is unlikely (not impossible) that a valid value of the array COULD be the same as INT_MAX (2147483647, or 2^31 - 1).

I see what you are saying but I am attempting to do it with a more basic (and probably worse) approach. Only reason I say that is that it is an assignment and we have yet to go over the methods you've mentioned. Playing around thought I was able to construct a bit more code, however it errors when taking in the 3rd value.

#define size 7
int main(void)
{
int array[size], target, i, prev, count;
//Initialize the array
printf("Please input %d integers which are sorted in the ascending order and a target value.", size);
scanf("%d", &target);
prev = array[0];
count = 1;
for(i = 0; i<size; i++)
{
    scanf("%d", &array[i]);
    if (array[i] == prev) count++;
    else
    {