Well first of all. I am pursuing my associates in CIS, and wanted to continue by getting a bachelors in CIS. The university I am able to go to(UWI*) does't offer that, instead it has MIS and CS. I have done one year of CS(CAPE*) before, and MIS does too little programming, so I will try for CS.

What I really want to know: how much of CS is math?? I am not very good at math, and the CS that I did before didn't have that much math and focused on a lot of program writing. Also, is it good to jump into CS when I'm not good at math?I see there aren't many math courses, but what about math integrated into the CS courses?

CAPE(http://www.cxc.org/examinations/exams/cape/list-subjects/computer-science)
UWI CS(http://www.cavehill.uwi.edu/fpas/cmp/ug_students.asp#comp_sci)

Any help is gratly appreciated.

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

You probably don't really know whether you're good at math. So I'm not going to believe you when you say you're not very good at it. (Actually, I might believe that you're not very good, but I won't believe you if you say you're not good at it.)

Are you good at programming? That's basically the only question which tells whether you can handle a CS program. And that includes the math parts (which are quite elementary).

Well the standard math course for my CIS course is a lvl 125, but i fail the placement exam and did 103. I got an F. i can do programming pretty well I believe, once I know the suitable functions and stuff, which I learn on my own. It's math outside outside of programming the I can't do.

If you can't even pass the easier math course, I don't see how you could be any good at programming or computer science. From what I can tell of your few posts on this forum, you do not have the aptitude for either subject.

From what I can tell of your few posts on this forum, you do not have the aptitude for either subject.

Zing!