Im new at programming i started learning Visual Basic today to start things off because i plan on going to college for this type of thing. I was just curious, which type of coding/language do you use to write and create Smart-phone apps in my case Blackberry apps. I know you have to pay to have them on the marketplace and what not but can you still create them for free just for the sake of practising and not release them?

Thanks in advance for any imput. new to the forum so hope it helps.

Recommended Answers

All 25 Replies

hi welcome to the forum.

since you are just starting, learn c and c++ first. these are a must learn. if u learn these then you should have no problem in learning others. JAVA and C/C++ are very similar.

also i say learn java. it is the base of JAVA ME and Android. Android is open source and there are resources available for it.

don't think there is Android for Blackberry even they are more unexisting here in Finland than Nokia in U.S.

since you are just starting, learn c and c++ first. these are a must learn. if u learn these then you should have no problem in learning others.

Really? So by learning C and C++ I'll have no trouble with LISP, or Haskell, or APL? Sure, learning C and C++ will help with picking up other Algol derivatives a bit more quickly, but that's not the only language family. Sometimes you need to make a huge conceptual leap when learning a new language, and syntax is a very minor part of that.

As for being a must learn. I fail to see why this is the case when the goal is writing smartphone apps. You'd be better off going straight to one of the languages commonly used for such apps, like C#, Java, and Objective-C, depending on which smartphone OS you're targeting. I'm a big proponent of learning C eventually simply for the insights it provides, but not to the exclusion of practicality. If it's not practical to learn C as a first language, don't force yourself.