Currently I am studying multi-thread, and I feel pretty confusion about the concept
of blocking, non-blocking, synchronous and asynchronous.

Exactly, there are so many explanations, and each of them have something differents,
someone says synchronous could be non-blocking too, someone says synchronous must be blocking.Someone says asynchronous must be non-blocking, someone says it could be blocking too.

Someone says synchronous is same as blocking, someone says it is different.

I am extremely confuse about those concepts now, don't know how to discern the differents between them.

Could anybody help me clear up my mind?Thanks a lot

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Hmm... Not everyone gets the idea of concurrent programming. Please don't feel bad about it. I will try to explain as plain as I could...

Anyway, think of synchronous as simultaneous instead. Two or more threads are running at the same time and share the same resources. While sharing the same resources, a thread may be holding resources that other threads need. As a result, blocking occurs until the thread who has the resources releases them.

Now about asynchronous, think of it as a function calls another function. A thread is running and all the sudden it needs results from another thread, or it cannot proceed. As a result, it stops. You could say that this is another type of blocking as well.

The non-blocking is similar to lock-free. In other words, regardless threads are sharing resources, they will never get stuck forever. It is the ideal when you work with threads.

Now about asynchronous, think of it as a function calls another function.

What if asynchronous threads have share resources?
Thanks

It may also get blocking (lock). It is just that the threads may be doing completely different tasks or using the shared resources in a different way. Though, these threads may still depend on the other to finish the job. The blocking problem from asynchronous is more difficult to deal with.