Hey,

I'm studying for a final exam and I came across an old question asking to give an algorithm that runs in [TEX]O(logn)[/TEX] and deletes an arbitrary element from an [TEX]n[/TEX] element Min-Heap if given its index.

I was thinking the right approach would be to use Hash table for direct access in [TEX]O(1)[/TEX] time and then delete the element in [TEX]O(logn)[/TEX] time and maintaining the heap property.

I don't really know how to go about writing an algorithm that does this though, so any help would be really appreciated.

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

I think you misunderstand the question. What are you using the hash table for?

Well hash table would be used to speed up searching for the item in the heap. I thought that searching would take logn and deletion logn taking into account any changes done to maintain the heap property.

If a heap is stored in an array, you can access the element at a given index in constant time. I think this is what the question assumes. I don't know what it would mean by "its index" if the heap is stored using an old fashioned tree with nodes and child pointers.

If a heap is stored in an array, you can access the element at a given index in constant time. I think this is what the question assumes. I don't know what it would mean by "its index" if the heap is stored using an old fashioned tree with nodes and child pointers.

Here's the exact question:

Describe an O(logn) time algorithm for deleting an arbitrary element for an n element heap, given the location of the element in the heap. The remaining elements must form a valid heap once you have executed your algorithm.

On a higher level, i.e. ignoring the exact locations of a node and its parent, I wrote this:

Delete(A, index):
[INDENT]while A[index] > A[parent(index)]:
[INDENT]parent = A[parent(index)]
A[parent(index)] = A[index]
A[index] = parent[/INDENT]
return Extract-Min();[/INDENT]