Hi all,

I am fairly new to C++, but i am having trouble declaring a 2D dynamic array.

Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

Please show us what you've tried, and explain just what you're trying to accomplish.

I could dust off my lecture, or you could do a little searching. Googling "c++ 2D dynamic array" brings up several hits that look helpful.

the psudeocode will be

datatype name [no of rows][no of cols];

e.g. int array[10][10];

This is a post on blackboard from a class-mate of mine--

/**
 * Posted by 'Gregg'
 */

ptr_practice1.cpp  (3.139 Kb)

When you create a 2 dimensional array on the stack, both the row and column values must be known at compile time, which is why you must use either literals or const variables as array size parameters.  So if you want to make both the rows and columns of an array be allocated dynamically in the heap memory at runtime, there's a couple of ways to go about it. The first is to create a new dynamic1D array like we did in class with scores array, just make the number of elements needed rows * columns:

int maxRows, maxColumns;

Use cin to get the max rows and columns from the user.

int* scores = new int[maxRows * maxColumns];

To access the elements, you can use either array or pointer notation. So to access row 2, column 3 (remember, arrays are 0 based):

whatsAtRow2Col3 = scores[((row -1) * maxColumns) + (column - 1)];

or

whatsAtRow2Col3 =*(scores + ((row - 1) * maxColumns) + (column - 1));