Ok, time to get off my ass and learn C and C++. However, I'm having a bit of trouble finding a free compiler; I'm a newbie so it needs to have a friendly and explanatory GUI if possible. Just post name and/or link, thanks :D

Recommended Answers

All 24 Replies

Hello,

I would recommend Bloodshed Dev-C++ for C++ programming.

If you want to compile C code, I would suggest using a C compiler such as GCC. I'm un-aware of any free available IDE envrionments for the C language. Though you may be able to compile C code in Dev-C++. I've never tried, though.

- Stack Overflow

>Though you may be able to compile C code in Dev-C++.
You can. You just need to be sure that the source file extension is .c instead of .cpp.

commented: Thanks for the info. -Stack Overflow +1

Ok, downloaded and found an online tutorial and I've already hit a bit of trouble:

// my first program in C++

#include <iostream.h>

int main ()
{
  cout << "Hello World!";
  return 0;
}

Thats the program. I compile and run as a .cpp. It seems to compile fine ("hello.exe" appears in folder), but when it comes to running, it shows the DOS box to display the text, and immediatly (spelling?) closes. The log displays something like this:

In file included from C:/Dev-Cpp/include/c++/3.3.1/backward/iostream.h:31,
                 from /my folder etc/hello.cpp:3:
C:/Dev-Cpp/include/c++/3.3.1/backward/backward_warning.h:32:2: warning: #warning This file includes at least one deprecated or antiquated header. Please consider using one of the 32 headers found in section 17.4.1.2 of the C++ standard. Examples include substituting the <X> header for the <X.h> header for C++ includes, or <sstream> instead of the deprecated header <strstream.h>. To disable this warning use -Wno-deprecated.

Execution terminated
Compilation successful

What am I doing wrong :S

Hello,

You may want to try:

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main (void) {
	// Display text
	cout << "Hello World!" << endl;
	// Pause screen