I am still new with fstream topic and I have some enquiries about using it.

Based on the tutorial shown, I managed to understand a little about it but when I copy the first few lines,

#include <fstream.h>

void main
{
    ofstream file;

file.open("file.txt");      //open a file

file<<"Hello file\n"<<75;       //write to it

file.close();               //close it
}

it show me an error of

error: invalid function declaration 

and also

#warning This file includes at least one deprecated or antiquated header. \
Please consider using one of the 32 headers found in section 17.4.1.2 of the \
C++ standard. Examples include substituting the <X> header for the <X.h> \
header for C++ includes, or <iostream> instead of the deprecated header \
<iostream.h>. To disable this warning use -Wno-deprecated.
#endif

please help me out, experts of C++.

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

There's a few issues with your file.

void main

If you're using C++ then main has a return of int not void. Also, you forgot the "()" at the end. So it should be:

int main()

The following compiles and works fine on my system:

#include <fstream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
    ofstream file;

file.open("file.txt"); //open a file

file << "Hello file\n" << 75; //write to it

file.close(); //close it

return 0;
}

also in c++, its #include< fstream> and not fstream.h

Thank you very much guys.

And also, I have some more questions that I feel that I needed to ask to make the thing simpler.

Some times when I type some of the programs using fstream, it shows error like this:

error: expected ';' before "namespace"

error: expected primary- expression before "namespace"

error: a function-definition is not allowed here before '{' token

Please reply me thanks. I keep getting these errors but I don't know what make them.

here is an example:

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;
#include <fstream>
int main( )
{
int num, total=0;
ifstream myFile("c:\\data.txt");
while (___________)
{