This is as much of a question about algorithm as it is about code.
I’m training monkeys to input data into a keyboard in the form of a table. I have created a special keyboard with nothing on it but numbers 0 - 9, a period, tab key and a return key. The goal is to get them to input data in rows and columns. However, I have been unsuccessful so far, as I am unable to get them to input a consistent number of columns. The input I get looks like this:

443 3439 3.932
4 55 9.99.9 12 293837493892
1 . 000.441893 78 74939.392938 4421229
8 77 .0 4.4 78909

…and so on.

Part of the problem is that as a reward for entering a consistent number of columns, I give them Jello shots. They really love the red ones.

As a programmer, I feel it’s my job to handle whatever erratic input might come my way, and so I have decided to try to deal with this input and create a table anyway. Much of this could be handled by simply throwing an exception or two, but this is an exercise and I believe it’s good for me. And since research monkeys are not cheap, I’m going to have to stick with the same ones. Besides, we’ve sort of bonded, I guess you could say. Some obvious concerns:

How do I code for various column widths? I can attempt to set the table to the number of rows present (incrementing by one for each “row”). Using the same procedure, I could then set the columns to the largest width. For example, in row three of the “table” above, there are possibly six values, giving it the greatest number of columns. Thus, I would have a table with four rows and six columns (depending on how the lone dot is handled). So far, the code to read the input and set the number of rows and columns looks like this:

1.	string endLine;
2.	double value = 0; //using this as placeholder so that something can be read.   Nothing else done with this value.
3.	while(fin.good())
4.	{
5.	   for(int r = 0; r < numRows; r++)
6.	       {
7.		fin>>value;
8.		fout << value << "\t";
9.		for(int c = 0; c < numCols; c++)