Hello, I'm very new at C++ and I have to write a code that uses a recursive function to reverse some characters within a boundary, so lets say I have A[1] == ‘A’ A[2] == ‘B’ A[3] == ‘C’ A[4] == ‘D’ A[5] == ‘E’ and I put in a boundary like reverse between 2 to 5 I will get
A[1] == ‘A’ A[2] == ‘E’ A[3] == ‘D’ A[4] == ‘C’ A[5] == ‘B’

So far this is what I have but I keep getting this link error and undefined symbol reallyReverse(char*, int, int)

include <iostream>
#include <string>
using namespace std;
void reversebound(int, int, int);

void reverse(char s[], int length);

void reallyReverse(char a[], int lo, int hi);

int main()
{
  char line[80];
  int start, end;
  char c;
  int length = 0;

//
  // Get a string from the user
  //

cout << "Enter a string up to 80 characters: ";
  cin.get(c);
  while (c != '\n' && length < 80)
    {
      line[length] = c;
      length++;
      cin.get(c);
    }

//
  // If line long enough, test reallyReverse directly
  //

if (length > 1)
    {
      cout << "Reversing elements 1.." << length/2 << endl;
      reallyReverse(line, 1, length/2);
      for (int i=0; i<length; i++)
	cout << line[i];
      cout << endl;

// Restore original line
      reallyReverse(line, 1, length/2);
    }

//
  // Reverse it
  //

cout << "Reversing whole line" << endl;
  reverse(line, length);

//
  // Print it
  //

cout << line[i];
  cout << endl;

}

void reverse(char s[], int length)
{
  reallyReverse(s, 0, length-1);
}

void reallyReverse(char a[],int lo, int hi)
{
    if (lo>=hi)
	return;
	char temp;
    char *s2 = *a;
    temp = s2[lo];
    s2[lo] =s2[hi];
    s2[hi]=temp;
    reallyReverse(a,lo + 1, hi -1);
}

Recommended Answers

All 18 Replies

From a compilation viewpoint, I see nothing that should prevent this code from linking. I do see a missing # in line 1, which I assume you removed inadvertently, and a type error in line 75; but when those errors are corrected, the program compiles and links over here.